• Home
  • |
  • Blog
  • |
  • How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida

Jonny White September 20, 2016 0

How-To-Become-A-Real-estate-Agent-in-Florida

Do you want to become a Florida real estate agent? Real estate is a fascinating career where you’re out meeting people, touring houses, analyzing markets, and staging homes.  It can be rewarding guiding people through the biggest financial investment of their lives. You can even help dreams come true.

In Florida, there are real estate sales associate licenses and real estate broker licenses. Sales associates work for an affiliated broker, often as an independent contractor, who trains them, supervises their activities, and pays them commissions from completed sales. Two years of experience as a sales associate is one of the requirements for becoming a broker.

So, how do you become a Florida sales associate? The simple answer is take a course, pass a test, and get a license. The long answer is a little more complicated.

General Requirements

Licensing requirements are developed at the state level by a state regulatory agency, such as a board of realty regulation, real estate commission, or department of licensing.  License law enacted by state legislatures are designed to protect the public from unqualified, unethical real estate professionals. If you want to buy and sell property for compensation, you must have an active real estate license from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).

The general requirements for obtaining a Florida sales associate license include:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • United States Social Security number
  • Complete 63 hours of approved prelicensing instruction within the last two years
  • Pass the Florida sales associate exam
  • Pay the $89 fee and get fingerprinted
  • Submit the application

Course Requirements

Within 24 months of application, you must successfully complete 63 hours of prelicensing instruction from an approved school or provider. The course must cover topics required by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). There are classroom courses available throughout the state and there are numerous online courses as well.

Then, before the expiration of the initial sales associate license, you’ll have to complete a FREC-approved, 45-hour post licensing course.

Steps for Getting a Real Estate License

To get a Florida sales associate license, you will have to:

  1. Learn: Complete an approved 63-hour prelicensing course online or in person. This course will be valid for 2 years after the course completion date.
  1. Apply: Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the $89 fee.
  1. Pass the licensing exam: You must score at least 75 or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30. The exam is conducted by Pearson Vue.
  1. Activate: You must activate your license, otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status.
  1. Learn some more: Before it’s time to renew your license the first time, you’ll need to complete an approved 45-hour post licensing course.

After that, you have to complete 14 hours of continuing education to renew your license.

360training.com is Here to Help You Get a Real Estate Sales Associate License

You can complete the education necessary to become a Florida real estate agent from the comfort your home or any place with internet. 360training.com, a leading online real estate school since 1999, offers a FREC-approved online prelicensing course that meets the state requirements.

The Florida Premium Prelicense Package includes:

  • 63-hour Florida Pre-License Sales Associate course
  • Florida real estate exam prep
  • Unlimited practice exams

After completing the prelicense course, you can return to your student profile page where your Certificate of Completion is available for printing.

What Else Should You Know About Becoming a Real Estate Agent?

Real Estate Market

According to Salary.com, the salary range for real estate sales associates in Florida is $37,000 – $38,000, but this varies quite a bit according to location and an agent’s motivation and hustle. A sales associate’s pay comes from a portion of commissions based on the sales price of completed transactions.

Florida Real Estate Commission

The Florida Real Estate Commission enforces the real estate license law and passes rules to fulfil its responsibilities.

In June 2015, the FREC introduced paperless licensing. After passing the licensing exam, you can print your license from your online DBPR account at www.myfloridalicense.com.

National Association of REALTORS®

The largest professional association in the real estate industry is the National Association of REALTORS®, which was first organized in 1908. To be a full member of this association, a person must be licensed in an individual state to sell real estate and must join the local association of the NAR. A REALTOR® is a real estate professional who subscribes to a strict code of ethics known as the Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice.

So there it is. A quick breakdown of what you need to do to get a sales associate license in Florida. If you have any questions, visit the Florida DBPR web site. States periodically update their requirements, so it’s smart to visit the Department web site once in a while to stay up to date.

Leave A Response »