To practice real estate in South Carolina, you must have an active real estate license. Every two years, South Carolina licensees must renew their licenses by completing the required education and paperwork.
Here are some facts about license renewal and expiration:
- South Carolina real estate licenses must be renewed every two years by June 30th
- Online renewal is encouraged. It’s the quickest way to have your renewal processed.
- There may be waits or delays if you renew in person.
- Renewals begin on May 1st when renewal notices are mailed out with online renewal login information.
- If you have an expiration date of June 30, 2018, you’ll need to complete 6 hours of elective courses and 4 hours of core real estate continuing education.
- If you’re not sure when your expiration date is, use the online licensee lookup to confirm your date.
- If you renew but don’t complete the continuing education, you can place your license on inactive status until you’ve completed the CE.
- Licenses that expire on June 30 and are not renewed before January 1 will be canceled by statute.
- Late renewal fees accrue at a rate of $25 per month July 1st through December 31st.
- After December 31st, the license is statutorily canceled and considered void. That means you’ll have to reapply and requalify.
- If your license has expired, you are unlicensed and cannot practice real estate in South Carolina.
- To get a salesperson license, you must complete the 60-hour Commission approved pre-licensing course, then apply to take the license examination. Before you apply for a license, you complete the 30-hour Real Estate Principles course. Then submit the application and pass the exam.
Make sure you have your CE done in time to renew. Do it the easy way with online courses from 360training.com. It’s only a few clicks away. Get started now!