• Home
  • ITIL Intermediate CSI Certification Training
ITIL ITIL Intermediate CSI Certification Training

ITIL Intermediate CSI Certification Training

699.00 699.00

  • Course Delivery: On Demand
  • Duration: 16 
  • Language: English
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Audience: ITIL Professionals

Chat Live | Contact Us | Toll Free: (888) 360-8764

Key Features

  • 12 hours of high-quality e-learning content
  • 45 PDUs offered
  • 10 chapter-end quizzes
  • 2 simulation exams
  • Accredited by AXELOS
  • Mobile friendly


ITIL® Intermediate Continual Service Improvement Certification is an intermediate level certification offered to professionals within the ITIL® qualification scheme. Continual Service Improvement Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the courses that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management. The purpose of this training and the associated exam and certificate is, respectively, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in service management as documented in the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement publication.


Course Objectives

At the end of training in ITIL® Intermediate CSI, you will be able to:

  • Define continual service improvement
  • Describe continual service improvement principles and processes
  • Explain continual service improvement methods and techniques
  • Implement continual service improvement
  • Define strategies for challenges, CSFs, and risk factors

Topics Covered

Introduction to Continual Service Improvement

  • Purpose, objectives, scope, and value to business
  • The context of service transition in ITIL service lifecycle
  • The approach to CSI
  • The business question to be asked to ensure that a CSI initiative is warranted
  • The context of CSI in the ITIL service lifecycle
  • The inputs and outputs to CSI

Continual Service Improvement Principles

  • How the success of CSI depends upon an understanding of change within an organization
  • How the success of CSI depends upon a clear and unambiguous ownership and accountability
  • How the CSI register supports the application of CSI
  • How CSI drives the adoption of, and is influenced by, service level management
  • How knowledge management is a main element of any improvement initiative
  • How the Deming Cycle is critical to both the implementation and application of CSI
  • How CSI can make effective use of the various aspects of service measurement
  • How CSI can be used to ensure good governance where goals are aligned and good management is achieved
  • How frameworks, models, standards, and quality systems fully support the concepts embodied in CSI

Continual Service Improvement Process

  • The seven-step improvement process
    • Purpose, objective, scope, value to business
    • Policies, principles, and basic concepts
    • Process activities, methods, and techniques
    • Triggers, inputs, outputs, and interfaces
    • Critical success factors and key performance indicators
    • Challenges and risks
  • How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process

Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques

  • When to use assessments and what to assess
  • How a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement
  • Benchmarking
  • Service measurement
  • Metrics
  • Return on investment
  • Service reporting
  • How availability management techniques such as component failure impact analysis, fault tree analysis, service failure analysis, technical observation and the expanded incident lifecycle can be used by CSI
  • How capacity management techniques such as business, service and component capacity management, workload and demand management, and the iterative activities of capacity management can be used by CSI
  • How CSI needs to take IT service continuity management requirements into consideration and how CSI can use risk management to identify areas for improvement
  • How problem management supports the activities of CSI
  • How knowledge management supports CSI

Organizing for Continual Service Improvement

  • Service owner
  • Process owner
  • Process manager
  • Process practitioner
  • CSI manager
  • The nature of the activities and the skills required for the seven-step improvement process
  • Comparing the CSI manager role with other relevant roles
  • How the responsibility model (RACI) can be used when defining roles and responsibilities in CSI

Technology Considerations

  • The technology and tools required and how those would be implemented and managed to support CSI activities, such as performance

Implementing Continual Service Improvement

  • Critical considerations and where to start
  • The role of governance to CSI
  • The effect of organizational change for CSI
  • A communication strategy and plan

Challenges, Critical Success Factors, and Risks

  • Challenges facing CSI
  • The appropriate critical success factors for CSI
  • The risk associated with implementing CSI

Summary and Directed Studies

  • Review of key concepts

Quiz Information

Ten end-of-chapter quizzes and two simulation exams



ITIL Intermediate exam is governed by APMG, EXIN and CSME. Professionals require 21 hours of professional training before attending ITIL Intermediate Exam. The exam fee for ITIL Intermediate exam is different as per governing bodies.

Got questions? Contact us below or call 877-881-2235

Why Choose 360training.com?

  • Fast and easy courses completion
  • Get an education faster than at traditional colleges!
  • 100% online - No classroom attendance required.
  • Unlimited 24x7 online customer support
  • Over 500,000+ certified nationwide.