Professional education plays an important role in earning and maintaining a real estate license. There is coursework you need to take before licensing, to prepare for your official license exam. There are also post-license hours to help you start your practice on the right foot. Finally, there are continuing education requirements that will qualify you for renewing your license.
Unfortunately, we don't offer real estate courses approved in Alaska at this time. You'll need to visit the Alaska Real Estate Commission (AREC)'s website to find approved educational providers.
So we have no financial stake in your success, but we know how confusing state licensing regulations can be. Below, you'll find an explanation of the requirements for real estate licensing in Alaska, especially in regards to the education you need.
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Alaska?
To be eligible for a real estate license in Alaska, you need to be at least 19 and willing to disclose convictions and disciplinary actions from your past.
Disqualifying blemishes may include:
- Being convicted of or under indictment for a felony, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud creditors, fraud, and certain other crimes
- Having had a real estate license denied, revoked, or otherwise subject to disciplinary action
- Being subject to an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action by a professional regulatory entity or association
- Ever having a lawsuit against you alleging fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or conversion of funds
- Having a fidelity bond denied or revoked
That doesn't mean those are the only things you need to disclose. AREC expects you to disclose all convictions and disciplinary actions no matter how long ago they occurred (or where). That includes convictions that were set aside, expunged, or are still pending. You also have to answer AREC's professional screening questions completely, honestly, and accurately.
Providing untrue or incomplete disclosure can also disqualify you from licensing. AREC advises that, when in doubt of whether an infraction matters, you should disclose.
How Do You Get a Real Estate License in Alaska?
The first level of real estate licensing in Alaska is a "salesperson" license. To apply for a salesperson license, you need to:
- Complete 40 hours of AREC-approved pre-licensing coursework
- Pass the Alaska Real Estate Salesperson Exam
- Find a licensed Alaska real estate broker to sponsor you
- Pay the fees and submit an application
You need to apply within 18 months of completing pre-licensing courses and within 6 months of passing the exam.
What is the Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
The Alaska Real Estate Salesperson Exam is administered by Pearson VUE, a third-party testing company with about a dozen testing locations throughout the state.
You'll need to bring 2 forms of signature ID, one of which needs to be a government-issued photo ID. There will be two exam portions: national/general and state-specific.
As soon as you complete the exam, you'll get a pass/fail report. If you pass with a score of 75% or higher, you'll get information on the next steps for license application. If you fail, you'll get a full score report so you know what to study before retaking the exam.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Alaska?
Before your first year as a real estate salesperson is up, AREC requires you to complete 30 hours of post-license education as well.
If you don't submit all the required documents, your license will lapse 30 days after your one-year anniversary. You'll have to go through the reinstatement process, with required fees.
How Often Does an Alaska Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
All Alaska real estate licensees have to renew their license every other year on January 31st of every even-numbered year. You'll get a reminder about 60 days before your license expires. It's important to renew on time because Alaska has no grace period – once you miss the expiration, your license will lapse and you won't be able to practice.
The fixed date means that new licensees may have less than 2 years before their renewal is due. However, if your license is issued within 90 days of the next expiration, it will be good through the following renewal period.
Additionally, if you receive your original license within 12 months of the expiration date, your renewal fee will be reduced.
What Are Alaska's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Alaska requires you to complete 20 hours of Continuing Education from an approved provider for each renewal period, including:
- 8 hours of core curriculum, or designated continuing education (DCE)
- 12 hours of approved elective continuing education (ECE)
DCE can be in one of four areas: real estate sales, property management, community association management, or commercial sales. For every 2-year renewal period, AREC publishes its approved DCE topics. For example, for the 2020-2022 renewal period, you'll need four 2-hour courses:
- Broker Supervision and Management
- Prohibited Conduct
- Advertising and Social Media
New licensees are not exempt from CE requirements, even though they must also complete a post-license course. Your post-license is due by your one-year anniversary, and your CE must be completed by your effective expiration date.
Every renewal period, AREC conducts a random audit of a certain percentage of licensees to make sure everyone complies with CE requirements. It's important to hang onto your proof of course completion in case you're chosen for audit.
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with an Alaska Real Estate License?
Getting a real estate license in Alaska can lead to many career paths, including:
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker or associate broker
- Property manager
Each real estate career has a wide selection of specialties and niches to choose from. Some specialties pay more than others, but those often necessitate further licensing or certification.
For a general idea of the salary you can expect as a real estate agent in Alaska, let's look at the median wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
As a real estate agent, your income is largely based on commission, so your individual earnings will depend on how well you sell. Some agents work part-time, while the top earners in Alaska – the 90th percentile of sales agents – make $105,850.
Check out our Resources page to learn more about different career opportunities, real estate niches, and how commissions work.