Professional education is a critical part of earning and retaining your real estate license in Delaware. You need pre-license coursework before you take the official state exam, post-license coursework to keep your license, and continuing education to renew throughout your career.
Below, we'll go over how many hours of training the Delaware Real Estate Commission requires, on which topics, by what deadlines, and more.
What Are Delaware's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
Delaware requires 99 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider.
If you're already licensed in another state and seeking a reciprocal license, you only need their 33-hour real estate law course.
Unfortunately, AgentCampus by 360training doesn't offer pre-license training in Delaware at this time, only Continuing Education. You'll need to visit the Delaware Real Estate Commission's website to find approved providers for your pre-license course.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Delaware Real Estate License?
As a new application (someone not applying for reciprocity), you need to:
- Complete the required 99-hour course
- Pass the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Examination
- Secure a sponsoring broker in Delaware
- Complete your application
What is the Delaware Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
You need to take your state license exam within one year of completing your pre-licensing course.
The exam is 4 hours long and administered by a third-party testing company named Pearson VUE in several locations throughout the state. It consists of 80 national topic questions and 40 Delaware-specific questions.
You'll learn whether you passed or failed before you leave the testing center.
How Often Does a Delaware Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
Delaware real estate licenses have to be renewed every 2 years. Everyone has the same renewal date: April 30th of every even-numbered year.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Delaware?
Within your first year of licensure, you have to complete 12 hours of "Newly-Licensed Salesperson Modules" with an approved provider.
The coursework includes:
- 3 hours in Professional Standards in Real Estate
- 3 hours in Agreement of Sale and Buyer Representation
- 3 hours in Real Estate Documents and Seller Representation
- 3 hours in Real Estate Professionalism
These 12 hours have a deadline independent of the renewal cycle, but also factor into your license renewal requirements (explained below).
What Are the Real Estate First Renewal Requirements in Delaware?
Because the CE deadline is the same for everyone – April 30th of every even-numbered year – the amount of CE you're required to complete in your first renewal varies.
|If your license was issued…||you need…||consisting of…|
|Within the first 6 months of a renewal period||18 hours||All of your Newly-Licensed Salesperson, plus 2 core modules (choose from Modules 1, 5, and 6)|
|ie, issue dates 5/1/2018 – 10/31/2018|
|In the next 6 months||12 hours||All of your Newly-Licensed Salesperson|
|ie, issue dates 11/1/2018 – 4/30/2019|
|In the next 6 months||6 hours||Half of your Newly-Licensed Salesperson|
|ie, issue dates 5/1/2019 – 10/31/2019|
|In the last 6 months of a renewal period||0 hours||None, but by the following renewal deadline, your CE will consist of your entire Newly-Licensed Salesperson plus core modules 1, 5, and 6|
|ie, issue dates 11/1/2019 – 4/30/2020|
What Are Delaware's Subsequent Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Once you've finished the schedule above, Delaware requires you to complete 21 Continuing Education hours every 2 years. It's broken down into 7 three-hour modules:
- Module 1 (Agency and Fair Housing)
- Module 2 (Professional Standards)
- Module 3 (Real Estate Documents)
- Module 4 (Office Management)
- Module 5 (Legislative Issues)
- Module 6 (Practices of Real Estate)
- Module 7 (any approved elective OR a course approved for Module 1-6)
Continuing Education hours are due by April 30th of every even-numbered year and must be completed with an approved provider.
AgentCampus by 360training only offers electives that satisfy Core Module 7 requirements.
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Delaware Real Estate License?
Once you're licensed as a real estate agent in Delaware, you can pursue a variety of career options, including:
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
Your opportunities are also defined by the specialty you choose. In real estate, there are as many niches as there are types of buyers, sellers, and property. Some are more profitable than others, although they frequently call for additional licenses or certifications.
For a general idea of the salary you can expect as a real estate agent in Delaware, let's look at the median wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
Your pay as a real estate agent is typically commission-based, so actual earnings vary a lot. As a result, some agents earn well below these averages, while others make well above. In Delaware, the top 90th percentile of sales agents make $79,480.