How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Mississippi

Real estate licensure in Mississippi requires you to meet certain educational requirements. You need pre-license education to get your temporary license, post-license courses to earn a permanent license, and continuing education for license renewal.

Below, you'll learn more about the training required to obtain and maintain your real estate license in Mississippi.


"Pick Your Own 8 Hour Electives" Mississippi CE Package

Duration Hours: 8

Choose any 2 of the included courses to complete your required electives!

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) requires 16 hours of continuing education every 2 years. Eight of those hours are mandatory topics, while the remaining 8 are elective. This package allows you maximum flexibility for completing your electives. Courses are online and self-paced, so you can work through them wherever and whenever is convenient. We also give you 5 different 4-hour courses to choose from. Pick any two to fulfill your elective requirements: Review fair housing laws...

Details ->

What Are Mississippi's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) requires 60 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved provider. You can't spend more than 8 hours a day in the course, so your first attempt at the final exam can't be until at least the 8th day.

Pre-license course finals have to be "proctored," or monitored by a third party to guarantee you aren't cheating.

Regrettably, AgentCampus by 360training doesn't provide Mississippi pre-license training right now, only continuing education. You can find an approved pre-license course through MREC's website.

Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Mississippi?

To be eligible for a real estate license in Mississippi, you need to be at least 18 and a resident of Mississippi at the time of your application.

What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Mississippi Real Estate License?

Outside of successfully completing your pre-license course, you need to:

  1. File your real estate license application
  2. Pass your Mississippi real estate license exam
  3. Find a sponsoring broker to supervise you

If you clear all those hurdles, MREC will issue a temporary salesperson's license. You need to complete a 30-hour approved post-license course within a year to upgrade to your permanent license.

What is the Mississippi Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?

After you get notice of application approval, you need to register and take for the Mississippi real estate license exam within two months. It's administered by PSI, a third-party testing company. You have 2.5 hours to answer 80 national topic questions and 1.5 hours to answer 40 state-specific questions.

You'll know how you did before you leave the testing center. If you fail one or both portions of the exam, you have one more chance to take the test before that two-month deadline. After that, you'll have to reapply.

If you pass, you'll get a one-year temporary license.

What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Mississippi?

After you pass the state exam, Mississippi issues a temporary license that expires one year after licensing. To earn your permanent license, you need to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education before your expiration.

You need at least 24 hours on the following subjects:

  • Agency relationships
  • Contracts
  • Earnest money
  • Antitrust
  • Fair housing
  • Ethics
  • Property condition disclosure

The remaining 6 hours in consumer representation, including topics like:

  • Pricing property
  • Environmental issues
  • Home inspections
  • Leases and property management
  • Mortgage processes

How Often Does a Mississippi Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?

After your first year, Mississippi real estate licenses must be renewed every two years.

What Are Mississippi's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?

For your first-year renewal, post-license education takes the place of any Continuing Education. After that, Mississippi requires 16 hours of CE from an approved provider (like us!) to renew your license.

That includes:

  • A mandatory 2 hours of License Law
  • A mandatory 2 hours of Contract Law
  • A mandatory 4 hours of Agency Law
  • 8 hours of electives

What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Mississippi Real Estate License?

Once you're licensed as a real estate agent in Mississippi, you can pursue several careers, including:

  • Residential real estate agent
  • Commercial real estate agent
  • Real estate broker
  • Property manager

Within each of those jobs, you can choose your niche and specialty. Some are more lucrative than others, and those often involve additional licenses or certifications.

You can get a general idea of your potential income in Mississippi with wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Sales Agents $21.68 $45,100
Property Managers $18.69 $38,880

A real estate agent's income is typically based on commission, so there's a wide variation in income levels from person to person, based on skill, specialty, niche, and more. Some agents work part time to supplement their income, while top earners make well above average. For example, the top 90th percentile of sales agents in Mississippi make $142,520.

To learn more about your career options, real estate specialties, and how commissions work, check out our Resources page.

Why learn with us


We’ve been trusted by millions of learners to provide their regulatory-approved training.


You get simple to follow course content that you can access anytime, anywhere.


We're here for you with online chat and toll-free phone support.


You’re in good hands. We’ve been in business for over 20 years.

Let's Chat!