Earning and keeping a real estate license in Nebraska requires both initial and continuing education. You need pre-license education before you take the official state exam, post-license courses to set you up for success, and continuing education for license renewal.
What Are Nebraska's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
NREC requires 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider, including 30 hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices and 30 hours of Nebraska License Law.
Effective July 1, 2020, you'll also need 6 hours in Professional Practice and Standards for a total of 66 hours.
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nebraska?
You have to be at least 19 with a high school diploma or GED to be eligible for a Nebraska real estate license. You also need to be a U.S. citizen or lawful alien with no history of disciplinary action against you in any real estate jurisdiction.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Nebraska Real Estate License?
After completing 66 hours of required coursework, you need to:
- Submit an application to sit for your license exam and receive a notification of eligibility
- Disclose any convictions or pending charges for misdemeanors or felonies
- Complete a fingerprint-based background check
- Pass both sections of the Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam
What is the Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
The Nebraska Real Estate Licensing Exam is administered by PSI, a third-party testing company testing facilities in Lincoln, North Platte, Omaha, and Scottsbluff. It consists of 100 national topic questions (with a 2.5-hour time limit) and 50 Nebraska-specific questions (with a 1.5-hour time limit).
You'll learn your scores before you leave the testing facility. If you fail one section of the test but pass the other, you only have to repeat the portion you failed. However, you need to pass the other portion within 6 months or by your fourth attempt, whichever comes first. Otherwise, you'll have to repeat the entire exam.
What is the Deadline for my Nebraska Real Estate License Application?
Within 30 days of passing the entire exam, you have to complete the licensing process by submitting your original score report(s) to NREC. Photocopies aren't accepted.
To have your license issued into active status, you also need to provide proof of Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Nebraska?
Effective July 1, 2020, licensees need to complete 12 hours of post-license education within 180 days of their license being issued. The post-license course needs to include instruction in completing contracts and listing agreements, as well as the handling of client funds.
If you don't submit evidence of post-license completion on time, your license will automatically be placed in inactive status.
How Often Does a Nebraska Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
Nebraska real estate licenses have to be renewed every 2 years. The deadline for all licensees is November 30th.
For new licensees, the cycle begins the January following your licensure.
What Are Nebraska's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Nebraska requires you to complete 18 Continuing Education hours from an approved provider every 2 years, including:
- At least 6 hours in Commission-approved "designated subject matter," which include
- Nebraska License Law (or parts of it)
- Nebraska Landlord/Tenant Act
- Nebraska Trust Account Maintenance (specific to the NREC manual)
- Agency/Brokerage Relationships
- Fair Housing/ADA
- Ethical Decision Making (not any specific code of ethics for a professional organization)
- Preparing a Certified Market Analysis (CMA) and/or Broker Price Opinion (BPO)
- Environmental Concerns
- 6 hours of electives or continuing education activities approved by the Commission
- 6 additional hours of electives
Continuing Education hours are due by November 30th of your renewal year. If you don't meet your CE requirements on time, you can only renew your license in inactive status.
NREC has an additional set of rules for how often you can repeat a specific course number:
- For designated subject matter (that contain "R" in the course number), you can repeat the same course in consecutive renewal periods but not within the same renewal period.
- For electives (4-digit course number only), you can only repeat the same course every other renewal period (ie, every 4 years).
- For continuing education "activities" without a course number, the same rules apply to "substantially similar content."
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Nebraska Real Estate License?
Getting a real estate license in Nebraska can lead to different career options, including:
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
Furthermore, there are countless niches and specialties you can choose from, based on the part you play, the kind of property, and the type of client. Some niches are more well-paid than others – those often call for extra licenses or certifications.
For a general idea of the salary you can expect as a real estate agent in Nebraska, let's look at the median wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
Since a real estate agent's income is largely commission-based, actual earnings differ a lot from person to person. Some people work part time to earn a little extra. Others make well above average. For example, the top 90th percentile of Nebraska sales agents make $95,840.
You can learn more about different career opportunities, real estate niches, and how commissions work by checking out our Resources page for more info.