Real estate licensure in Nevada requires meeting the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED)'s educational standards for pre-licensing, post-licensing, and continuing education. Each stage of training comes with specific curriculum, deadlines, approved providers, and more.
What Are Nevada's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
NRED requires 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider.
Topics must include:
- 45 hours of Real Estate Principles, including
- 21 hours of brokerage and laws of agency
- 12 hours of valuation and economics
- 12 hours of real estate finance
- 45 hours of Real Estate Law, including
- 25 hours of ownership, transfer, and use of property
- 18 hours of Nevada real estate law
- 2 hours of applied practice and statutory disclosures
Unfortunately, we don't offer pre-license courses in Nevada at this time. You can find a school authorized for them on NRED's website.
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nevada?
To get a real estate license in Nevada, you need to be at least 18 years old.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Nevada Real Estate License?
After the required pre-license education, you need to:
- Pass the state licensing exam
- Submit your fingerprints for a background check
- Complete the application
Once you complete all of those steps, NRED will issue an original license that is valid for one year.
What is the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
Nevada's real estate license exam is administered by Pearson VUE, a third-party testing company. It's a timed test, consisting of two parts: a national portion with general questions and a state portion with Nevada-specific questions.
Before you leave the testing center, you'll get a score report. If you fail one portion of the exam, you'll only need to retake that portion.
What is the Deadline for my Nevada Real Estate License Application?
You must submit your application within 12 months of passing your state licensing exam.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing / First Renewal Requirements in Nevada?
Nevada requires new salesperson licensees to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education within 12 months of your license's issue date. Completing post-license courses on time is important because your original license expires at the end of the twelfth month.
Salesperson post-license courses focus on practical applications of real estate transactions. They consist of at least 15 modules covering:
- Real estate contracts
- The listing process, market analysis, and inspections
- Communication, technology, and records management
- Buyer representation
- Professional conduct, etiquette, and ethics
- Advertising regulations
- Proceeds of sale, costs of sale, and cost sheets
- Agency relationships
- Regulatory disclosures
- Property management
- Escrow, title, and closing processes
- Tax opportunities and liabilities
By Nevada statute, post-license courses can only be taken through live instruction. With permission, licensees who live in rural areas may take their courses through an interactive or televideo method that involves interaction with the instructor and students.
How Often Does a Nevada Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
In Nevada, the first renewal of a new license (salesperson, broker-salesperson, or broker) always comes 1 year after the original license is issued. NRED needs proof of completion for the post-license education required for your license type to issue your first renewal.
For subsequent renewals, Nevada real estate licenses need to be renewed every 2 years.
Renewal paperwork and CE are due by the last day of the month in which your license was initially issued. You may renew by mail or in person. If you submit by mail, the renewal application must be postmarked by midnight of the expiration date. NRED recommends that if you renew in person, you avoid the end of the month and the middle of the day.
What Are Nevada's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Once your first renewal is complete, Nevada requires you to complete 24 Continuing Education hours from an approved provider to renew an active license.
For salespersons, those hours must include:
- 3 hours of Agency
- 3 hours of Contracts
- 3 hours of Ethics
- 3 hours of Law & Legislation
- 12 hours of general/elective courses
For broker-salespersons and brokers, there are 3 additional required hours of Broker Management. That means they only need 9 hours of general/elective courses.
For all license types:
- At least 12 of the 24 hours must be taken through live instruction.
- If you hold a Property Manager and/or Business Broker permit, you need 3 hours of continuing education for each permit.
- No more than 3 hours of your general education can be in personal development, which includes topics like:
- Personal Safety
- Selling to Your Sphere of Influence
- Business Planning for Real Estate
- Current Issues/Trends in Real Estate
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Nevada Real Estate License?
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
No matter what role you choose, you can select a specialty and niche that further defines your opportunities. You'll make more money in some niches than others – unsurprisingly, the more bankable practice areas often call for additional certifications or licenses.
For an idea of your potential salary in Nevada, we can look at average wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
Your salary is typically commission-based in the real estate industry, so actual earnings will depend on how well you sell. As a result, some real estate professionals make far less, while others make much more. In Nevada, the top 90th percentile of sales agents make $98,800.
Check out our Resources page to learn more about your career options, niches, specialties, and how commissions work.