Being a New Hampshire real estate agent requires ongoing professional education. You're required to meet the educational standards set by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (NHREC), including pre-license training that will get you ready to pass the license exam and continuing education throughout your career.
Unfortunately, we don't offer New Hampshire real estate courses at the moment. Regardless, we understand how baffling the licensing process can be. Below, we'll summarize the steps for obtaining and renewing a real estate license in New Hampshire. You'll need to visit the NHREC's website to find approved training providers for the state.
What Are New Hampshire's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission requires 40 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved training provider.
- Real estate law
- Fair housing regulations
- Real estate interests
- Real estate ownership
- Land descriptions
- Title transfers and title records
- Real estate brokerage
- Real estate agency
- Real estate contracts
- Real estate financing
- Government laws and regulations
At least 32 hours of pre-license training must be classroom-based
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in New Hampshire?
To qualify for a real estate salesperson license in New Hampshire, you need to be at least 18.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My New Hampshire Real Estate License?
In addition to finishing your pre-license education, you need to:
- Pass the state licensing exam
- Submit a background check through the New Hampshire State Police
- Find a sponsoring broker
- Submit your real estate application
What is the New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
You need to take your official licensing exam within 6 months of finishing your pre-licensing course.
The official licensing exam is administered by PSI, a third-party testing company. The exam consists of 80 national questions (which you have 2.5 hours to complete) and 40 New Hampshire-specific questions (for which you have 1.5-hours).
You'll find out whether you passed before you leave the testing center.
What If I'm Already Licensed in Another State?
New Hampshire has reciprocity with Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine, and Georgia.
How Often Does a New Hampshire Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
Every 2 years by your license anniversary, you need to renew your New Hampshire real estate license.
Once a license is expired for six months, New Hampshire considers it lapsed.
What Are New Hampshire's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
New Hampshire requires you to complete 15 Continuing Education hours from an approved provider before an active renewal, including:
- 3 core hours
- 12 elective hours
For inactive renewals, only the 3-hour core course is required.
Curriculum for the core course includes license law, agency, property disclosure, fair housing regulations, and more.
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a New Hampshire Real Estate License?
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
Within each career, a wide range of specialties and niches are possible. Some practice areas are more lucrative than others, and those often require additional licenses or certifications.
You can get a general idea of salaries in New Hampshire with wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
As a real estate agent, your salary will largely be based on commission, so there's a broad range of incomes. Some agents earn little, while top earners make far more than average.
Check out our Resources page to learn more about different career options, real estate specialties, and how commissions work.