Whether you're trying to earn your real estate license or work towards your renewal, it's easy to meet Virginia real estate educational requirements with us. Our courses are approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board (VREB) and delivered entirely online for your convenience.
What Are Virginia's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
VREB requires 60 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider like Agent Campus by 360training.
Those 60 hours include:
- Virginia Pre-License Principles (30 hours)
- Practices of Real Estate for Salesperson in Virginia (30 hours)
Your course's final exam has to be proctored – in other words, monitored to ensure there's no cheating.
Virginia 60 Hour Salesperson Prelicense Basic Package
Finish VREB-approved pre-license coursework plus free real estate math practice.
Virginia 60 Hour Salesperson Premium Prelicense Package
Includes mandatory pre-license training, license exam prep, and more!
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Virginia?
To be licensed in Virginia, you need to be 18 years of age or older and have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Virginia Real Estate License?
Once you meet the basic requirements above, you should:
- Pass for the required courses with a VREB-approved course provider.
- Pass the state and national sections of the Virginia Real Estate Exams.
- Undergo a fingerprint-based background check at a PSI Testing Location.
- Submit your license application within 45 days of your fingerprinting.
What is the Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
The exam is administered by PSI, a third-party testing company. After you finish your pre-license course, your provider will notify PSI that you've finished your pre-requisites. Then you'll submit a registration form and pay a fee.
You must pass your licensing exam within a year of PSI receiving your registration. We highly recommend our exam preparation course with practice exams to help you ace the test on your first try.
Virginia's state licensing exam consists of 80 national topic questions (with a 1 hour and 45-minute time limit) and 40 Virginia-specific questions (with a 45-minute time limit).
You'll find out whether you passed before you leave. If you fail, you'll get information that will help you study for your next attempt.
What is the Deadline for my Virginia Real Estate License Application?
In many cases, you can get fingerprinted for your background check at the PSI testing center, right after you pass both portions of the exam.
Once you've submitted your fingerprints, you have 45 days to submit your license application.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Virginia?
After your license is issued, VREB requires post-license education (PLE) within your first year of licensure – specifically, your due date is one year starting from the last day of your licensure month.
It's important to complete post-license requirements on time in order to keep your license active – after your due date passes, your license will automatically switch to inactive status unless your PLE is on file.
Virginia's PLE requirement is 30 hours, split up into 9 courses:
- Fair Housing, ADA, and Civil Rights (2 hours)
- Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours)
- Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
- Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
- Agency Law (3 hours)
- Contract Writing (6 hours)
- Risk Management (3 hours)
- Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
- Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)
How Often Does a Virginia Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
In Virginia, you need to renew your real estate license once every 2 years. Your deadline is on the last day of the month in which you were initially licensed.
For example, if your license is issued January 5th, your renewal deadlines will fall every other January 30th. Note, the renewal requirements have to be RECEIVED by your expiration in order to be "on time." You need to submit or mail fees, forms, and proof of CE early.
What Are Virginia's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Virginia requires salesperson licensees to complete 16 Continuing Education hours from an approved provider (like us!) every 2 years, including:
- Ethics & Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
- Fair Housing (2 hours)
- Legal Updates and Emerging Trends (1 Hour)
- Real Estate Agency (1 Hour)
- Real Estate Contracts (1 Hour)
- 8 approved elective hours
Since 2016, the Legal Updates course must include instruction on flood areas and flood insurance.
You don't need CE before your first renewal, because your post-license hours take their place. In fact, you can't get any credit for CE courses that you take during the post-license renewal period.
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Virginia Real Estate License?
A real estate license can lead to a variety of careers in Virginia, including:
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
Within each of those jobs, you can choose the specialty and niche that suits you best. Some kinds of real estate pay more than others, but those frequently involve additional licenses or certifications.
To get an idea of your potential earnings in Virginia, you can look at the median wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
As a real estate agent, your income will typically be based on commission, so it varies a lot from person to person. As a result, some agents earn well below the average. On the other hand, some make much more. The top 90th percentile of sales agents in Virginia make $105,640.
You can learn more about career opportunities, niches, specialties, and how commissions work by checking out our Resources page for more information.