Earning and keeping a real estate license in Wyoming requires both initial and continuing education. The Wyoming Real Estate Commission sets minimum educational requirements and designates certain training providers for accepted use.
Unfortunately, we don't offer real estate courses in Wyoming at this time. You'll need to visit Wyoming's website to find a list of eligible schools, with links further down this page.
Regardless, we understand how overwhelming it can be to figure out the licensing requirements in any state. To make your life a little easier, we'll review the licensing process for you below: the coursework, exams, deadlines, and more. We'll also explain how Wyoming license renewals work and where you can get your CE online.
What Are Wyoming's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
The Wyoming Real Estate Commission requires at least 54 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider, including:
- Salesperson Course I with Wyoming Law (30 hours)
- Salesperson Course II (24 hours)
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Wyoming Real Estate License?
Aside from your pre-license coursework, you need to:
- Pass the official licensing exam
- Submit your fingerprints for a background check
- File your salesperson license application
What is the Wyoming Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
The Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam is administered by a third-party testing company named PSI in testing locations throughout the state. It consists of 100 national topic questions and 32 Wyoming-specific questions to be completed within 3.5 total hours.
You need to pass both sections, national and state, to qualify for the application. You'll get pass/fail results before you leave the testing center. If you pass one portion and fail the other, you'll only need to retake the part you failed. You have to pass it within 6 months, or you'll need to retake the entire exam.
How Often Does a Wyoming Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
In Wyoming, all real estate licenses have to be renewed by December 31st every 3 years.
You are given a 60-day grace period after the deadline, but you'll have to pay a late fee.
What Are Wyoming's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Wyoming requires you to complete 45 Continuing Education hours from an approved provider every 3 years, including:
- 24 hours of mandatory courses (topics change from cycle to cycle)
- 8 hours of Broker Management (responsible brokers ONLY)
- 13 approved elective hours for responsible brokers and 21 elective hours for salespersons
Check the Wyoming Real Estate Commission website for this cycle's mandatory courses.
Mandatory courses need to be completed in a classroom, but electives can be completed online.
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Wyoming Real Estate License?
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
Since a real estate agent's salary is largely based on commission, actual earnings differ a lot from individual to individual. Some people work part-time to earn supplemental income. Others make well above the average income. For example, the top 90th percentile of sales agents in Wyoming make $121,940.