5 Burning Questions about California Liquor License Law
What is ABC?
The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control was created by constitutional amendment effective January 1, 1955, as an independent department of the executive branch of the State government.
Today, the department holds an exclusive power, in accordance with laws enacted, to license and regulate the manufacture, importation, and sale of alcoholic beverages in California. It also has the power for good cause to deny, suspend or revoke any specific alcoholic beverage license.
What is the California RBS On and Off-Premise Training?
The Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) training is in place to ensure public safety in the state of California. ABC recommends workers in establishments that sell or serve alcohol to complete a Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) training program through an approved RBS training provider such as 360training.com.
The goal of this program is to reduce the number of alcohol-related incidents by prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages to intoxicated individuals and minors.
Is it required to complete RBS training in California?
At the moment, the RBS training is not mandatory at the state level, but many establishments, as well as cities and counties, do require RBS certification from employees.
However, with the Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) Training Program Act of 2017 on the horizon, things are likely to change since will now be required to “develop, implement, and administer a curriculum for an RBS training program” by January 1, 2020.
Who will be required to take RBS training?
Starting from July 1, 2021, alcohol servers will be asked to complete an RBS training program. Alcohol servers will include employees of on-sale licensees who serve alcoholic beverages, any person who supervises or manages such an employee, and a designee for alcoholic beverage sales and service pursuant to obtain a temporary license.
How much is this training and how long will the license be valid?
The training cost should not exceed more than $15 and can be completed in 3 hours. The certificate of completion can be obtained from the approved training provider and will hold a validity of 2 years.