How to Get Your Real Estate Brokers License
Are you looking to advance your career by obtaining your real estate broker's license but don’t know where to begin? A job in real estate brokering offers flexibility and uncapped financial opportunities.
However, real estate licensing requirements vary by state. In many states, you must become a licensed real estate salesperson to become a real estate broker. Then after a few years of experience, you can apply for a broker’s license.
To make it clear and easy to understand, we provide the steps for pursuing a career path as a real estate broker below.
Real Estate Broker General Requirements
In states with a salesperson-broker structure, the requirements to obtain a broker license often include the following:
- Be 18 years of age
- High school diploma or equivalent
- 2 to 4 years of experience as a practicing salesperson
- Complete the required broker education
- Take and pass the broker licensing exam
- Complete the broker license application and pay the necessary fee
"Pick Your Own 8 Hour Electives" Mississippi CE Package
Choose any 2 of the included courses to complete your required electives!
Alabama 15-Hour Real Estate CE Package for Salespersons
Satisfy all your continuing education requirements with 5 AREC-approved courses.
Alabama 60-Hour Premium Real Estate Pre-License Package
Includes mandatory pre-license training, license exam prep, and more!
Alabama 60-Hour Real Estate Pre-License Basic Package
Get AREC-approved pre-license training, plus free real estate math practice.
Arizona 24-Hour CE Agent Renewal Package
Satisfy all of Arizona’s sales agent continuing education requirements online.
Arizona 30-Hour CE Broker Renewal Package
Meet all CE requirements as a designated or delegated associate broker.
South Carolina Unit I: Real Estate Principles and Practices for Salespersons
Learn the laws that you will need to navigate in a successful career.
California 135 Hour Basic Salesperson Prelicense Package
Get required DRE-approved pre-license courses plus free real estate math practice.
California 135 Hour Premium Salesperson Prelicense Package
Includes mandatory pre-license training, state license exam prep, and more!
Broker License Course Requirements
Education requirements for brokers vary by state. Most states require between 45 and 90 hours of real estate courses on mandated topics. Florida requires a 72-hour broker pre-license course plus a 60-hour post-license course.
In Texas, you will have to complete 270 hours of pre-licensing education on mandatory topics plus 630 hours of related courses for a total of 900 hours. The general steps for obtaining a broker license in most states include the following:
- Salesperson license: You must successfully complete the required and state-approved education and pass your state’s salesperson licensing exam.
- Experience: Salespersons must typically have between 2 and 5 years of working for a real estate broker before applying for a broker license. Some states require a certain number of “points” for transactions and education.
- Education: Once you gain experience as a real estate agent, you can take the real estate broker course. Broker applicants must complete 60 to 90 hours of approved real estate education.
- Exam: Every state has different exam requirements, but you must pass the broker licensing exam to earn a real estate broker license.
- Application and Fees: Complete the broker license application and pay the fees.
Salespeople must work for a licensed broker who has agreed to supervise them. In other states like Washington, there is no salesperson license. The Washington State Department of Licensing offers broker, managing broker, designated broker, and branch manager licenses.
What Else Should You Know About Becoming a Real Estate Broker?
Many real estate brokerage firms have salespeople, associate brokers, designated brokers, branch managers, and support staff. A supervising or designated broker is often the “boss” of the firm, sponsoring salespeople, holding their licenses, training them, and supervising their actions as licensees. Most licensees prefer to maintain an independent contractor relationship between salespeople and supervising brokers for tax purposes.
Often a salesperson is prohibited from accepting compensation directly from clients or customers; the commission is given to the designated broker, who then disperses a portion of it to the salesperson who worked on the transaction. The designated broker owns the listings and is responsible for the actions of his or her salespeople.
Most states have laws requiring specific supervisory duties that designated brokers must fulfill. Brokers can be liable for the mistakes of their licensees.
On-Demand Real Estate Education
Agent Campus by 360training is the leading online real estate school for industry professionals in need of training for real estate licensure, post-licensure, continuing education, and ongoing professional development. You can complete your real estate education from the comfort of your home or anywhere with internet access.
In fact, Agent Campus by 360training offers a variety of courses that will help you progress, including:
- Pre-license courses
- Exam prep courses
- Post-license courses
- Continuing education courses
- Business skills training
- Real estate education packages
When you’re working full-time, online training makes learning easy and convenient. All you have to do is sign up, progress through the lessons, pass the final exam, and print your Certificate of Completion.