If you’re reading this article, there’s a strong likelihood that you live in Missouri, and are interested in getting your real estate license. But before we discuss how to get a real estate license in Missouri, let’s discuss why.
Missouri Showing Positive Signs
Now is a promising time to become a real estate agent in Missouri. Kansas City, Springfield, and St. Louis were recently named among the top cities named WalletHub’s list of Best Real Estate markets in the United States.
Future predictions also show a growth of about 4% for Missouri real estate. With data like this, it’s only natural for the Missouri market to gain national attention in the real estate industry. This buzz has led many residents and hopeful money chasers to wonder how to get a real estate license in Missouri.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Missouri
There exist three routes for obtaining a real estate license in the state of Missouri. The fundamental requirements of being an 18-year-old or above, however, along with passing the Missouri Salesperson examination are to be met no matter whichever route you take.
Below is a detailed guide for you to obtain a real estate license in state Missouri. The option that you go for depends on which of these requirements suit your case the best.
Option 1: Newcomers
For those who are first-time candidates looking to obtain a real estate license in state Missouri, this is the method to follow.
Step 1: The first step is to complete Missouri’s state-specific pre-licensing education course. This includes two different courses. First a 48-hour salesperson class, the completion of which makes you eligible to take the licensing exam.
The second class is of a 24-hour duration and deals with Real Estate Practices. This can only be taken once the first course has been completed, but there is an option of appearing for licensing exam before it.
Step 2: Once the classes have been completed with their minimum time requirements and practice exams, take the class final exam that requires a 75% score to pass. There is no requirement for a proctor to be presented in this exam.
Step 3: The next stage is to take and pass your final licensing exam with PSI. PSI is the body that Missouri State has contracted their entire licensing exam process to. Read the Missouri Candidate Handbook for further information about this exam.
Step 4: Once the exam is cleared, take the fingerprint test, which has been an additional licensing requirement since 2011. This stage is handled by 3M/Cogent. Missouri Real Estate Commission can be contacted at 573-751-2628 for further information.
Step 5: In this final stage, you are required to complete the application for the license. This can be done at any time within six months of 48-hour pre-examination class completion. The DPR Real Estate Commission has the application available on its website.
Option 2: Attorneys at Law
For people with an attorney license that are researching how to become a real estate agent in Missouri, this option is feasible as it provides a few relaxations in the process of becoming a real estate agent. By having an attorney license, one can skip both the educational requirements of the salesperson examination and directly take the exam.
Once the exam has been cleared, download the application from the DPR website as mentioned above and submit it with a copy of your bar card.
If, however, you are unable to clear both the exams in one sitting, you must apply for license within six months of the first take of the exam and reappear following the same procedure.
Option 3: Out of State Agents
Real estate licensing requirements are quite similar in most states. Therefore, if you are a practicing real estate salesperson in any other jurisdiction, a certain portion of the exam in Missouri are waived off for you.
All you have to do is to pass the part that is unique to Missouri’s Salesperson Examination, and complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP). These two are the fundamental pre-requisites of the licensing application, besides, of course, the fingerprints.
With the application, however, the certification of your current license from the real estate commission of state/jurisdiction it is being practiced at. The certificate shouldn’t be older than three months though. Additionally, the copy of the license will not be acceptable.
All these methods, depending on your case will enable you to obtain a real estate license in the state of Missouri. The case related wave-offs aside, all candidates are required to go through the process of fingerprinting and a federal criminal history background check.