Are you a Texan trying to start your career as an insurance adjuster but aren’t sure where to begin? Or are you already an adjuster in Colorado or Virginia and are looking to expand your territory?
If you’ve landed on this blog, there’s a strong likelihood that you’re interested in earning your Texas All-Lines Adjuster License. Earning this license will set you up for a promising career with lots of potential for growth.
First, let’s look at the insurance landscape of the Lone Star State. In Texas, there are only two types of adjuster licenses:
- All-lines, and
- Property and Casualty.
Here, we will focus primarily on the Texas All-Lines Adjuster license, and discuss why you need it, the precursor requirements, and how to apply for it.
What is an All-Lines Adjuster?
Before we get into the finite details of when, where and how to become an all-lines adjuster in Texas, let’s take a step back and understand what it means to be an all-lines adjuster from a career standpoint.
A claims adjuster, or claims handler, is a person who investigates insurance claims, interviews claimants, and consults with the police and hospitals to determine the company’s liability. He’s the person you see taking notes on a writing pad after a car accident or a natural disaster.
The All Lines Adjuster License can apply to all kinds of adjusting that includes Texas Standard Fire Policy (TSFP), HO A/B/C Renters/Condo, Commercial Lines coverage, Inland and Ocean Marine, Surety Bonds, as well as additional coverage for today’s busy professionals. This type of license provides individuals with a much greater range of adjustments, which explains why many are looking into how to get their Texas All Lines Adjuster license online.
Earning a Texas All-Lines Adjuster License
The Texas All Lines Adjuster license is one of the best insurances licenses you can receive in the state of Texas. It provides holders with plenty of career opportunities, as it makes them an ideal candidate for insurance companies across the state.
Before getting your license however, you must first meet the license’s requirements. For your convenience, we’ve gone ahead and listed these basic requirements below.
- The candidate must be at least 18 years of age
- Although most companies prefer a 4-year college degree, it is not necessary as per the Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook found on the Texas Department of Insurance’s official website.
- You must be a Texas resident to be eligible for the Texas All-Lines Adjuster License or reside in a state that does not offer licensing for insurance adjusters. Virginia, Colorado, Tennessee, Nebraska, etc. are a few such states.
- You must be a legal citizen or a legal alien of the United States, and possess work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
- If you reside in Texas, you can send your fingerprints through IdentoGo Centers to MorphoTrust, USA. After submitting your fingerprints here, you will get a receipt that you can send along with your application and get it completed.
If you live elsewhere, you will have to request a fingerprint card which you will receive via mail. You will have to take the card to a local law enforcement agency and get your fingerprints on the card, which you will need to mail back to IdentoGo. They will email you a receipt after digitizing it, which you will send with your application.
- The final step is to submit your application. You can either mail your application physically or email it with the following documents.
- A course completion certificate
- Fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo
- $50 check for fees.
Preparing for Licensing Exam
To begin working as a Texas All-Lines Adjuster, you must first pass the licensing exam. Like all tests, this licensing exam will require hours of studying and preparation time.
You can find a content outline for the online exam and start preparing for this rewarding career. A claims adjuster training solution is recommended for exam preparations for the exam in Texas. Simply memorizing terms and definitions is not enough, applicants must be able to understand each principle to be able to resolve problems quickly and efficiently.
The test takes roughly 2 hours and consists of 150 multiple choice questions. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass the exam. The final exam must also be monitored by a disinterested third party who must sign an Affidavit verifying exam compliance.
Once you pass your exam, a 40-hour claims adjuster training course will be immediately available to you, which includes real-life scenarios that will help you with your decision-making process.
It is that simple! Now you simply need to land your first insurance adjusting job and start adjusting claims! In case you don’t pass the exam on your first attempt, don’t lose hope. Try again with a positive attitude and know that you can do it. Good luck!