Texas Food Handlers Certificate: Everything You Need To Know
If you currently work in a Texas restaurant or wish to in the future, you may know about earning a Texas food handler certificate.
The certificate covers food safety issues, regulations, and techniques that will ensure you know how to maintain a safe environment. The course also teaches you the proper procedures for handling food to reduce the risk of foodborne illness.
The course is packed with vital information for anyone who handles food in Texas.
You may have some questions about this course. This blog gives an overview of the necessary information about the Texas food handlers certificate.
ANSI-Accredited Food Handler Training
Duration Hours: 2
Get your food handler card in just 2 hours with our ANSI-ASTM accredited course.
With our training course, it’s easy to earn your food handler card, meet state and employer requirements—and get to work fast. You get an overview of food safety issues, regulations, and techniques that will ensure you know how to maintain a safe environment. The course also teaches you the proper procedures for handling food so that you can reduce the risk of foodborne illness. Once you complete the lessons and pass the final exam with...
What are the legal requirements for food handlers in Texas?
According to the Texas Department of State Health Services (TXDSHS), under Texas Food Establishment Rules (TFER) §228.33, every food employee is required to complete accredited food handler training and receive their certificate within the first 60 days of their employment at a food-serving establishment.
A food employee is defined as anyone working with unpackaged food, food equipment, food utensils, or food-contact surfaces.
Some examples of food service establishments that have food employees include:
- Casual and fine-dining restaurants
- Fast food restaurants
- Coffee shops
- Convenience stores
- Food trucks
- Sandwich shops
The following individuals are exempt from required food handler training:
- Certified food managers
- Those working at food establishments which only sell pre-packaged food items
- Those working at temporary food establishments
Read the complete set of Texas food handler rules here.
How do you get a food handlers certificate in Texas?
The easiest way to earn your Texas food handler certificate is to take an online course.
Online training can provide an affordable and effective solution for food safety and alcohol compliance at all levels. That frees your managers to focus on the kind of development computers can't provide.
Taking a course online allows you to access the course at any time and complete it at your own pace.
How long does the Texas food handlers certification take?
The ANSI food handler course required in Texas takes two (2) hours to complete.
How old do you have to be to get your Texas food handlers?
You can earn your license at any age, whether or not you are employed in a food handling job. Anyone working as a food handler in Texas must complete their Texas food handler training and earn their certificate within the first 60 days of employment, regardless of age.
Does the Texas food handlers license expire?
Each certificate is valid for two years. After those two years, you must retake the Texas food handler course and earn a new certificate.