About this Course
This course satisfies the required 6 hours of Broker Responsibility credit that supervising licensees (broker OR agent) need to renew their license in Texas.
This course addresses the regulatory aspects of managing and operating a Texas brokerage firm, as well as providing supervision for the licensees employed within. This includes provisions from The Real Estate License Act (Chapter 1101 of the Texas Occupations Code) and the TREC Rules (22 TAC Chapter 535).
We'll review the law of agency and the fiduciary responsibilities that agency relationships confer. You'll study the planning and organization of business entities, as well as the regulations that control various aspects of your firm's operation.
We'll also examine the anatomy of a complaint filed with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).
Important: Sales Agents under regular CE requirements must also complete the 6-hour Broker Responsibility course if they have been made Supervisor by their broker. Non-Elective
What You Get
Certificate of completion
100% Online, Available 24/7
At your own pace, save progress as you go
Support available by email, phone, or chat
Content is updated and current
- Scope and Competency
- Fiduciary Responsibilities
- Property Management and Trust Accounts
- Delegated Supervisors and Teams
- Advertising and Registration of Names
- Written Policies
- Additional Broker Duties
Who Is Required to Take the Broker Responsibility Course in Texas?
The Texas Broker Responsibility course actually isn’t just for brokers. Sales agents need to complete this course as a mandatory part of their continuing education (CE) if they’ve been made a supervisor by their broker.
However, all Texas brokers need to take the Broker Responsibility training whether or not they supervise.
What Is the Difference Between a Texas Real Estate Agent and a Texas Broker?
The difference between a sales agent and a broker is that brokers have a Texas real estate broker license while sales agents have a lower level of real estate license.
Having a broker license allows you to work independently, handle financial transactions, and employ other real estate agents and brokers, whereas Texas sales agents must work for a broker and have supervision.
How Do I Become a Broker in Texas?
To earn your Texas real estate broker license, you’ll need to:
- Complete the broker pre-license education requirements,
- Meet the broker experience requirements,
- Submit your broker license application,
- Pass a fingerprint-based background check, and
- Pass your Texas broker exam.
How Long Do You Have to Be a Real Estate Agent to Become a Broker in Texas?
Before you apply for a Texas real estate broker license, TREC requires you to have at least four (4) years of active experience during the 60 months (ie, 5 years).
However, it’s not just a time requirement. You also need to have completed a certain number of transactions over the course of that time. Each type of transaction is assigned a certain point value, including closed purchases or sales, executed leases, or properties managed. Being a delegated supervisor as a sales agent can also confer points.
You must have a total of 360 total points, and they need to be somewhat spread out; TREC requires at least one transaction per year for four of the previous five years.
How Many Hours Do You Need to Be a Broker in Texas?
It depends on what you mean.
There’s no fixed number of experience hours to become a Texas broker, just the experience requirements listed above. The number of work hours this requires will vary from agent to agent.
In terms of education hours, you have two options to qualify for your broker license. You need to complete either:
- A TREC-approved college bachelor’s degree PLUS a 30-hour Texas Real Estate Brokerage course, OR
- 270 hours of Texas pre-license broker courses PLUS 630 hours of approved continuing education (CE) or other qualifying courses.
When Does My Course Expire?
Your course will expire one (1) year after you purchase it (the date you submit payment), unless the course itself indicates otherwise.
How Quickly Will I Get My Certificate of Completion?
Once you finish your course and pass any required exams, you can print your certificate of completion right away.
What Can I Do If I Lose My Certificate?
If you lose your certificate of completion and need a new one, you can contact customer service at (877) 881-2235 or email@example.com.
What If I Need a Refund for My Training Course?
If for some reason you are not happy and would like a refund, send us a request within 72 hours of purchase. Here are the eligibility requirements you must meet:
- Your purchase was made no more than 72 hours prior to your refund request.
- You have NOT
- Attempted any portion of a test or exam.
- Requested or been issued a certificate of completion.
- Completed 50% or more of the purchased course.
If you meet all of these criteria, submit your refund request in writing via email to firstname.lastname@example.org with a proof-of-purchase receipt and an explanation for why you are requesting a refund.
You can find more information about our refund policy here.
|Texas Real Estate Commission
|1700 N. Congress Avenue, Ste. 400