TABC Seller Server Training FAQ

Q. Price of Course?

A. Please refer to our site for latest pricing. TABC pricing can be found here. We accept checks and credit/debit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover).

Q. How long is the course?

A. The course is 2 hours.

Q. Why do I need this course?

A. This course is required by most employers in Texas in order to work within the food and beverage industry. It teaches you how to be a responsible seller or server of alcohol.

Q.Who is the course accredited by?

A. The course is approved by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Q. What are the benefits of this course?

A. If you have taken this course, and there is a situation that arises regarding your alcohol service, you are eligible for reduced fines or penalties because you have taken this course. This is the Dram Shop Law. For employers, ensuring your staff is TABC certified means that you are less liable should a situation arise.

Q. What do I get when I pass the course?

A. You will be able to print your official certificate of completion immediately following course completion.

Q. How is my course completion reported?

A. If all required information, including full social security number and date of birth are supplied at registration, your credit will be reported to TABC within 14 days of completion of your course.

Q. What does the course cover?

A. Specifically, you will learn:

    • The laws regulating sale or service of alcoholic beverages to minors, intoxicated persons, and non-members of a private club;
    • How to protect yourself and your establishment from liability;
    • How alcohol affects your customers;
    • How to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers;
    • How to prevent customers from becoming intoxicated;
    • How to intervene when you need to refuse a sale to someone;
    • How to accurately check IDs and recognize minors;
    • How to prevent second-party sales;
    • And how to refuse a sale.

Q. What is unique about this course?

A. This course specifically addresses alcohol laws and case studies in Texas. The course includes interactivities and videos to make the learner experience more engaging.

Q. What do I do once I have finished the course?

A. Upon completion of the course, providing all required information is provided at registration, your credits are sent to TABC within 14 days and you are able to print out your official certificate of completion immediately.

Q.Reporting: when will the grades be reported?

A. Your course completion information will be reported to TABC within 14 days of course completion, providing all required information is provided at registration, and kept on file with our company indefinitely.