Does Colorado law require an Alcohol Server License?
There’s no specific law in Colorado that requires you to complete alcohol seller-server training like in some states. However, if your employer wants to quality as a Responsible Alcohol Beverage Vendor, you’ll be required to complete an approved training program.
Additionally, your employer must keep your proof of training on hand in case someone from the Colorado Enforcement Division requests it.
You may also find that your city or county has training requirements as well. Always follow up you’re your local regulators and employer to ensure you’re meeting any training requirements that they have.
Please note that at this time, Learn2Serve® by 360training is not approved in Colorado.
How long does an alcohol certification last in Colorado?
The regulations state employees serving and selling alcohol must get recertified every three years to maintain Responsible Vendor status.
Why should I take Colorado alcohol server training?
Depending on where you work, you might be required to participate in the Responsible Vendor Program and complete an alcohol training course.
For example, as a result of changes to the Colorado Liquor Code as of July 1, 2016, all Liquor Licensed Drug Store employees that are engaged in the sale of alcohol must obtain and maintain certification as a Responsible Alcohol Beverage Vendor pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes §44-3-410(6)(b)?
That as an incentive for licensees to provide training for servers, and because server training has proven to be an aid in the reduction of violations, Colorado law provides for reduced penalties on the first violation of a sale to minor for licensees who have completed a Responsible Alcohol Vendor program?"
Even when it's not required by law, employers may want you to take a training course so that you understand the penalties and risks of severing minors or intoxicated patrons.
According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 1,702 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Colorado from 2003 to 2012. So as a seller of alcohol, you’re in a position to make a positive change and reduce those numbers
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
But generally speaking, alcohol server-seller training is useful in a wide range of jobs—but especially for bartenders.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Colorado.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$11.47||$23,860|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $20.88 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Colorado?
You can find more about alcohol sales on the Colorado Department of Revenue’s website, including:
- How to apply for a license or permit
- Tobacco regulations
- Tax Information