Connecticut Alcohol Seller-Server Training

Individual Course

Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)

Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.

12.00 7.50
DETAILS Buy Now
Individual Course

Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)

Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.

25.00 7.50
DETAILS Buy Now

Does Connecticut law require an Alcohol Server License?

Alcohol seller-server training is recommended in Connecticut to teach you how to avoid illegal alcohol sales.  Training typically covers how to:

  • Check ID to recognize minors
  • Prevent second-party sales
  • Prevent customers from becoming inebriated
  • Protect your establishment and self from liability
  • Recognize the effects of alcohol on customers
  • Refuse a sale to intoxicated persons and minors

Connecticut does, in some cases, allow businesses with revoked or suspended liquor permits to use approved seller-server training as a way to earn reactivation or reissuance of their license.

Also, some cities or counties may have stricter requirements than the state. It's always a good idea to double check with your city/county or employer to ensure you comply with local regulations.

Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol seller/server training is not recognized by state or local governments in Connecticut.

How long does a Bartender License last?

Generally, alcohol seller/server licenses need refreshing every 2-3 years to keep the principles of responsible alcohol sales fresh in your mind.  Check with your employer or local liquor board for their requirements or preferences.

Why should I take Connecticut alcohol server training?

First of all, your employer may require it. Owners and managers of establishments licensed to sell alcohol often require responsible seller training because the penalties for breaking alcohol sales laws can carry big consequences.

The Connecticut Liquor Control Commission enforces stiff penalties for underage drinking. Selling alcohol to a minor is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to $1,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or both.

Sellers can also be held liable if you sell alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person who then causes a car crash. With adults, the liability cap is $250,000; if the drunk driver is under 21, there is no limit on your liability.

Beyond liability and penalties, you’ll learn about your role in keeping the public and your customers safe. As an alcohol seller or server, you're in a unique position to help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in Connecticut.

According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 1,039 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Connecticut from 2003 to 2012. While that's lower than the national average, it's still far too many casualties.

Alcohol seller-server courses cover how to recognize minors or intoxicated customers, as well as strategies for refusing an illegal sale. 

What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?

In Connecticut, getting your alcohol seller-server certificate makes you an attractive candidate to potential employers because you will be familiar with state laws and best practices for serving alcohol.

And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Connecticut.

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Bartender $12.97 $26,970
Bartender Helper (Barback) $12.43 $25,860

If you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $19.55 an hour. And depending on your preference, skill level, and career goals, there are many different establishments you can work at with your alcohol server-seller certificate, such as:

  • Bars
  • Restaurants
  • Convenience stores
  • Grocery stores
  • Package stores (liquor stores)
  • And more…

Basically, any business that needs someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work.

Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Connecticut?

You can find more about alcohol sales in Connecticut on the Connecticut Liquor Control Commission’s website, including:

  • Current price controls and discounts on beer and liquor
  • Alcohol sales permit applications
  • Recent suspensions, revocations, or remonstrances

Why learn with us

icon

We’ve been trusted by millions of learners to provide their regulatory-approved training.

icon

You get simple to follow course content that you can access anytime, anywhere.

icon

We're here for you 7 days a week with online chat and toll-free phone support.

icon

You’re in good hands. We’ve been in business for over 20 years.