How Do I Get My Illinois BASSET Certification?
Getting your BASSET certification is easy. Simply complete a state-approved alcohol server training program, and as soon as you pass the final exam, you get your temporary certificate of completion. Then, your completion is sent to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC), and the ILCC will send your official BASSET card. Get started today!
Illinois BASSET Certification + Food Handler Training
Choose this package to get your Illinois BASSET and food handler training.
Illinois BASSET Training
Sign up for Illinois-approved alcohol training to earn your BASSET certification.
What Does BASSET Stand For?
BASSET stands for Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training. In short, it’s a program that teaches anyone serving alcohol Illinois how to do it responsibly. By completing the program, you contribute to the state’s goal of preventing drunk driving and sales to minors while at the same time building safer communities.
What Is a BASSET Card?
A BASSET card verifies that you’ve completed an Illinois-approved alcohol server training program, such as the online course we provide at Learn2Serve® by 360training.
How Long Does the Certification Last?
Your BASSET certification is good for three years from the date it’s issued. After the three years is up, you’ll need to take your training course again.
Is Alcohol Training Required in Illinois?
Yes. As of July 1, 2018, Illinois requires all on-premise alcohol servers, as well as anyone who checks ID cards for alcohol service to complete BASSET training. Additionally, several counties with their own training requirements for anyone working at an establishment that serves or sells alcohol. Plus, many employers require you to complete the training course to reduce liability.
Is TIPS the same as BASSET?
No. TIPS and BASSET are not the same thing. BASSET is the program run by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission and includes the requirements for serving and selling alcohol.
Similar to Learn2Serve® by 360training, TIPS is simply an approved alcohol training provider in Illinois. So, before the Illinois Liquor Control Commission will send you an official BASSET card, you must complete a four-hour alcohol seller training course from an approved provider.
Why Should I Get my BASSET Card?
First of all, if you’re serving alcohol, you’re required to take the course. But it will also help you learn the laws so that you stay protected from liability, as Illinois enforces the Dram Shop Act.
Additionally, the ILCC imposes harsh penalties for serving minors under the age of 21 alcoholic beverages. For a minor offense, you can face a fine up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. And if it’s a felony offense, you’re looking at a prison sentence of a year or more, in addition to fines up to $25,000.
Also, in Illinois, you have the right to refuse service to anyone who cannot provide proof of their identity and age, or if they are intoxicated. By taking advantage of those rights, you can help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in Illinois, which is a major concern.
For example, in Illinois from 2003 to 2012, data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) states that a total of 3,866 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver—which is higher than the national average.
What You Will Learn in the Program
One of the topics our BASSET training course covers in detail is how to recognize intoxicated customers and ways you can safely refuse to sell to them. Check out our BASSET certification course to learn about additional topics the training covers.
What Job Can I Get with My Certifcation?
In Illinois, if you’re looking to get a job getting your BASSET certification makes you an attractive candidate to potential employers because you will be familiar with state laws and best practices for serving alcohol.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Illinois.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$10.26||$21,340|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $18.71 an hour. And depending on your preference, skill level, and career goals, there are many different establishments you can work at with your BASSET card, such as:
- Convenience stores
- Grocery stores
- Liquor stores
- And more…
Basically, any business that needs someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work.
Where can I get more information about Illinois alcohol regulations?
You can find more information on the ILCC’s website, including:
- BASSET rules and regulations
- BASSET license application
- Resources for parents to prevent drinking
- Happy hour frequently asked questions
- News and updates on licensing and laws.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Illinois BASSET alcohol server training.