How do I get my Kansas alcohol server certificate?
Getting your alcohol service training is quick and easy in Kansas. Just complete a state-approved training program and pass the final exam. You'll get a certificate of completion right away. Give a copy to your employer for their records, and you're done! Enroll in our Kansas alcohol server training course now!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
Does Kansas law require responsible alcohol server training?
Alcohol server training is recommended but not required by the state of Kansas.
Many Kansas employers do require training, because Kansas Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) may take this into account when determining penalties for a legal violation.
Before it even gets to that point, knowing the law and best practices for safe and legal alcohol service can prevent you from committing violations in the first place.
Note: Kansas doesn't publish a list of approved training providers at this time.
Regular refreshers are the key to compliance, which is why renewing your alcohol seller-server license is generally recommended every 2-3 years.
Kansas doesn't regulate alcohol training, so you should check with your employer for recommendations. They may have a preference based on previous experience with Kansas ABC.
Why should I take Kansas alcohol server training?
First of all, many employers in Kansas will require or prefer that you complete alcohol server training because having employees that know the law reduces the likelihood of liquor law violations.
In fact, even if your employer doesn't make you take the training, you should consider it so you can avoid trouble. In Kansas, you could face criminal charges as a server if you sell alcohol to someone under 21. Your employer will also get an administrative citation, a fine, and possibly the suspension or revocation of their liquor license.
In addition to protecting yourself and your employer, your server education can help you protect your patrons and the general public. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 1,214 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Kansas from 2003 to 2012.
By practicing what you learn in alcohol server training, you can help bring that number down.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?
You can use what you learn in alcohol server training for any job where you serve or sell alcohol in a licensed establishment.
That includes jobs in a bar, restaurant, or other on-premises business. Alcohol server training can also prepare you for off-premises establishments like liquor stores, grocery stores, and convenience stores.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Kansas.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.68||$20,130|
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Kansas?
You can find more information about alcohol sales on the Kansas ABC’s website, including:
- ABC public records search
- Information on the licensing process
- Penalties for underage drinking or facilitation
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our alcohol server training.