How do I get my Louisiana Bar Card?
Getting your Louisiana Responsible Vendor (RV) Server Permit is easy. Simply complete a state-approved RV Class, and as soon as you pass the final exam, you get your temporary certificate of completion.
We'll report your completion to the Louisiana Alcohol and Tobacco Control (LA-ATC), and they'll issue your official Louisiana bar card. Get started today!
Louisiana Responsible Vendor + Food Handler Training
Get both your Louisiana alcohol sever and food handler training courses.
Louisiana Responsible Vendor Training
Enroll to learn Louisiana’s laws for selling and serving alcohol responsibly.
What is a Louisiana Responsible Vendor Server Permit?
A Louisiana RV Server Permit verifies that you’ve completed a Louisiana-approved alcohol server training program, such as the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Are RV Server Permits Required by law in Louisiana?
Yes. Louisiana requires ANY employee of an establishment authorized to sell or serve alcoholic beverages to complete Louisiana Responsible Vendor Training within 45 days of starting employment.
Once you complete an RV Class from an approved provider, such as Learn2Serve by 360training, you are Louisiana RV Server Certified. You'll get a temporary certificate of completion and the provider will notify LA-ATC of your status.
Your employer can then confirm your certification on the LA-ATC's website. The LA-ATC no longer mails an official Louisiana bar card, but you can download or print a copy on their website.
How long does a Louisiana Bar Card last?
Your Louisiana Responsible Vendor Server Permit expires four years after the issue date. After that, you’ll need to complete your alcohol seller course again.
Why should I take Louisiana alcohol server training?
First of all, if you’re serving alcohol in Louisiana, you’re required to take the course and get your bar card.
Additionally, the LA-ATC imposes harsh penalties for serving minors under the age of 21 alcoholic beverages. Maximum penalties include fines up to $500 for a first offense, up to $1,000 for a second offense, and up to $2,500 for a third offense. You may also face the revocation or suspension of your alcoholic beverage or server permit.
You also need to know how to refuse service to intoxicated persons. By doing so, you can make Louisiana roads safer. Drunk driving fatalities in Louisiana happen at a significantly higher rate than the national average. Data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) says that 3,046 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Louisiana from 2003 to 2012.
Our Louisiana RV Server training course covers these topics in detail to give you the skills you need for serving alcohol lawfully in Louisiana.
What jobs can I get with my Louisiana bar card?
In Louisiana, having a bar card before you apply makes you an attractive candidate to potential employers because they'll know you are familiar with state laws and best practices for serving alcohol.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Louisiana.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.22||$19,180|
The top 90th percentile of bartenders in Louisiana make $11.73 an hour.
Despite being called a "bar card," there are many different establishments you can work at with your Louisiana Responsible Vendor Server Permit, such as:
- Bars & Restaurants
- Convenience & Grocery stores
- Hotels & Casinos
- Liquor stores
- Caterers & Event spaces
- And more…
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Louisiana?
You can find more information on the LA-ATC’s website, including:
- RV Server Permit rules and regulations
- A copy of the RV Handbook
- A list of Responsible Vendor Violators
- Information about checking ID cards, including vertical cards
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Louisiana Responsible Vendor Certification training.