How do I get my Maine alcohol server certificate?
It’s easy to get your alcohol certificate for selling and serving alcohol in Maine. You just need to complete a certified seller-server training program. Typically, this includes a course and exam. Once you pass, you get your certificate of completion that you can use to show proof of training. Start our approved Maine alcohol training course today!
Maine Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Credit Hours: 4 Credit Type: Certificate
Enroll now to understand the requirements for serving alcohol on-premises.DETAILS
Take our certified training course to learn about the laws for selling and serving alcohol in Maine. Additionally, the course reviews Main Liquor Liability Act. You’ll learn how to protect yourself and your employer. The course teaches you the signs of intoxication and how to refuse service to someone that’s had too much to drink. Plus, you’ll gain an understanding of the consequences of serving minors. Once you complete the lessons, you must...
Does Maine law require I complete alcohol training?
In Maine, alcohol server training is recommended but not required by law.
Many Maine employers will have you complete a certified alcohol seller-server training program because they will receive mitigating benefits in the event of a legal violation.
Of course, training can also ensure you know how to stop these kinds of violations before they even happen since the course reviews the Main Liquor Liability Act.
Here’s where you can find a list of alcohol training providers that the Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations has approved. On it, you’ll find online providers like us at Learn2Serve by 360training listed.
Maine doesn't regulate alcohol training, so you should check with your employer or local jurisdiction for recommendations. But even though re-certification is not required, you should still complete a refresher course every 2-3 years to ensure you’re updated on the latest legal changes.
Why should I take Maine alcohol server training?
Criminal penalties can be harsh for selling alcohol to a minor in Maine. It's a Class D misdemeanor that carries up to 364 days in jail, up to $2,000 fine, or both. If that minor causes death or injury to someone else after consuming the alcohol, it becomes a Class C felony. At that point, you're subject to up to 5 years in prison, two years probation, and a $5,000 fine. Your employer could face the suspension or revocation of their liquor license.
It's no wonder employers will encourage training, if it can prevent or mitigate those consequences. But even if your employer doesn't require it, you should consider training to protect yourself from criminal charges.
Maine also enforces what's called a Dram Shop law. That means licensees can be held liable if they negligently or recklessly sell alcohol to a minor or intoxicated person who goes on to injure a third party. Liability includes medical bills, lost wages, damaged or destroyed property, and compensation for pain and suffering.
That's important to know because Maine has a higher rate of drunk driving fatalities than the national average. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 491 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Maine from 2003 to 2012.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?
What you learn in training will apply for any job where you work with alcohol, whether that’s at a bar, restaurant, or liquor store.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Maine.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$12.05||$25,060|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $22.81 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Maine?
You can find more information about alcohol laws on Maine’s Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages & Lottery Operations website.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Maine alcohol seller-server training.