How do I get my Minnesota Alcohol Server Certification?
It's simple to get your Alcohol Seller Certification in Minnesota. First, complete a brief training program and take the exam. Once you pass, you get immediate access to a certificate of completion, which you can print for your employer as proof of training. Enroll in our alcohol server training course now!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
What is a Bar Card in Minnesota?
A bar card or alcohol seller certificate verifies that you have completed a training program in responsible alcohol sales or service, such as the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does Minnesota law require an Alcohol Server License?
Alcohol seller-server training is recommended in Minnesota, because you need to know the laws you must follow and how to avoid making illegal alcohol sales. Training includes how to:
- Check ID to recognize minors
- Prevent second-party sales
- Prevent customers from becoming inebriated
- Protect your establishment and self from liability
- Recognize the effects of alcohol on customers
- Refuse a sale to intoxicated persons and minors
Some jurisdictions have stricter training requirements than the state, so you should double-check your employer and city/county to ensure you comply with local laws.
How long does a bartender license last?
It's important to take regular refresher courses. Alcohol seller-server licenses are generally valid for 2-3 years. Check with your employer or local health authority for their specific requirements.
Why should I take Minnesota alcohol server training?
For one thing, your employer may require it. Owners and managers often require employees to complete responsible seller training because breaking alcohol service laws can lead to drastic consequences.
The Minnesota Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division (AGE) enforces stiff penalties for underage drinking. The establishment can lose its liquor license. A server caught selling alcohol to a minor can be charged with a gross misdemeanor with a sentence of up to one year in jail, up to a $3,000 fine, or both.
That's why, even if your employer doesn't require it, you should take alcohol server training yourself.
Drinking establishments can also be held liable for selling alcohol to an obviously intoxicated person or minor if that person causes a car crash or other injury.
As an alcohol seller or server, you also have an important role in keeping customers safe and preventing drunk driving accidents in Minnesota.
According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 1,442 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Minnesota from 2003 to 2012. While that's lower than the national average, it's still far too many casualties.
Alcohol seller-server courses cover how to recognize minors or intoxicated customers, as well as strategies for refusing an illegal sale. Check out our alcohol seller/server licensing course to learn about additional topics.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
Getting your alcohol seller-server certificate in Minnesota can bring your resume to the top of the pile for potential employers because they'll know you're already familiar with laws and best practices for serving alcohol responsibly.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Minnesota.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$11.61||$24,140|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $12.77 an hour. And depending on your preference, skill level, and career goals, there are many different establishments you can work at with your alcohol server-seller certificate, such as:
- Restaurants and brewpubs
- Members-only clubs
- Sporting facilities
- Liquor stores
- And more…
Basically, any business that needs someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Minnesota?
You can find more about alcohol sales in Minnesota on the AGE’s website, including:
- Check the liquor license database
- Get responsible alcohol server posters
- Learn the history of alcohol regulation in Minnesota
If you are looking for more course-specific information instead, check out our Minnesota alcohol server training.