How do I get my Mississippi Alcohol Server Certification?
Getting your alcohol server certification in Mississippi is very straightforward. Just complete an alcohol server training program and pass the exam! You'll get a certificate of completion immediately that you take to your employer as proof of training. Be sure to ask if any additional steps are required by local authorities. Enroll in our Mississippi alcohol server training course now!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
What is a Bar Card in Mississippi?
A bar card or alcohol seller certificate verifies that you’ve completed an alcohol server-seller training program, like the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does Mississippi law require an Alcohol Server License?
Alcohol seller-server training is recommended in Mississippi to help you learn the best practices for safe alcohol service and to make sure you understand the limits of the law. Our training includes:
- Checking ID properly to identify minors
- Preventing second-party sales
- Recognizing the effects of alcohol and preventing inebriation
- How to safely refuse sale to minors or intoxicated persons
- How to protect your establishment and self from legal liability
Depending on where you live, there might be additional requirements. Double check with your city, county, or employer to make sure you get the necessary training.
How long does a Bartender License last?
Regular refreshers are the key to compliance, which is why renewing your alcohol seller/server license is generally recommended every 2-3 years. Check with your employer or local liquor board for specific requirements.
Why should I take Mississippi alcohol server training?
Owners and managers of establishments licensed to sell alcohol want you to understand the law because the stakes can be high if you break it. The Mississippi Office of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) enforces stiff penalties for underage drinking. Selling alcohol to a minor is punishable by up to $2,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or both.
And ultimately, they could lose their license.
That's why some employers require bar cards and why it gives you a leg up even with the employers that don't. Your certification is evidence you know how to reduce your legal liability.
Additionally, you're in a unique position as an alcohol seller or server to help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in Mississippi. According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 2,560 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Mississippi from 2003 to 2012—which is nearly twice the national average.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
Alcohol seller-server training prepares you for many different jobs in Mississippi. Bartending, waiting tables somewhere with a liquor license, catering at weddings and other events, and selling alcohol to go from a package store all involve responsible seller-server skills.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Mississippi.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.11||$18,940|
Bartenders in Mississippi in the top 90th percentile make $13.51 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Mississippi?
You can find more about alcohol sales in Mississippi on the Mississippi ABC’s website, including:
- Wet-dry maps by type of beverage
- Hours of sale for alcoholic beverages
- Press releases and other alcohol regulation news
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Mississippi alcohol server training.