How do I get my Missouri alcohol server certification?
Getting your alcohol seller certification in Missouri is very straightforward. Once you complete a quick course and pass the test, you can access your certificate of completion instantly and deliver it to your employer as proof of training. Enroll in our Missouri alcohol server training course now!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
What is a Bar Card in Missouri?
A bar card or alcohol seller certificate verifies that you’ve completed an alcohol server-seller training program, like the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does Missouri law require an Alcohol Server License?
Alcohol seller-server training is recommended in Missouri to familiarize you with liquor laws and best practices for serving alcohol safely and legally. Training usually includes:
- How to check ID to recognize minors
- Recognizing and preventing second-party sales
- How to prevent customers from becoming inebriated
- Recognizing the effects of alcohol on customers
- How to safely refuse a sale to intoxicated persons and minors
Some cities or counties may have stricter alcohol server training requirements. Double check with your city, county, or employer to make sure you get the necessary training.
Please note, Missouri does not provide a list of approved training providers. The state does recommend its SMART training, which is offered through the state.
How long does a Bartender License last?
Missouri alcohol seller-server licenses generally need to be refreshed every 2-3 years. Ask your employer or local liquor authority about their specific standards.
Why should I take Missouri alcohol server training?
Many employers require or prefer job candidates who have a training certificate because they want to make sure their employees understand how to obey the law.
The Missouri Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) enforces stiff penalties for underage drinking. Selling alcohol to a minor is a misdemeanor. You could face up to a $1,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or both.
Drinking establishments can also be held liable if you sell alcohol to a minor or visibly intoxicated person who then causes injury to someone else.
Alcohol server training also arms you with the knowledge to help prevent drunk driving. According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 3,314 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Missouri from 2003 to 2012—which is higher than the national average.
Check out our alcohol seller-server licensing course to learn how to perform your job in the safest, most legally compliant way possible.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
In Missouri, an alcohol seller-server certificate can prepare you for many different types of jobs. You could work as a bartender, serve alcohol at a restaurant, or mix drinks at a club. You can also work as a store clerk anywhere that sells alcohol like a liquor store, convenience store, or grocery store.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Missouri.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$10.48||$21,810|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $21.37 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Missouri?
You can find more about alcohol sales in Missouri on the ATC’s website, including:
- The fee schedule for alcohol licenses
- Data on active licenses, new licenses, temp licenses, and more
- Compliance check information
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Missouri alcohol server training.