Nevada Alcohol Awareness Training

Does Nevada law require alcohol server training?

Yes. Under NRS (Nevada Revised Statutes) 369.630, Nevada requires anyone who serves, sells, or acts as security in a licensed liquor establishment to earn a Nevada alcohol education card within 30 days of hiring.

Employees subject to this law need to complete their training through a Nevada-approved alcohol beverage training provider.

Note: If you work in a county with a low population density, you may be exempt from the requirement. Check with your employer or city/county to learn more.

Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol server training is NOT valid in Nevada.

How long does a Nevada alcohol education card last?

Your Nevada alcohol education card expires four years after the issue date.  You'll need to repeat your training.

Why should I take Nevada alcohol awareness training?

First of all, state-approved training is required by law in Nevada for server/sellers and security.

Additionally, it can save you and your employer from the penalties enforced by the Nevada Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC).

Alcohol server training also helps you keep customers safe from drunk driving in Nevada. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 1,025 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Nevada from 2003 to 2012. That's lower than the national average for its population, but still far too many people.

What jobs can I get with my alcohol education card?

There are many different establishments you can work at with your alcohol education card, such as:

  • Bars
  • Restaurants
  • Hotels
  • Caterers and event spaces
  • Liquor stores
  • Grocery stores
  • Convenience stores
  • And more…

Training is required for jobs where you sell or serve alcohol to the public, supervise those that do, or provide security for establishments licensed for alcohol service.

And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Nevada.

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Bartender $13.26 $27,590
Bartender Helper (Barback) $11.84 $24,640

However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $18.85 an hour.

Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Nevada?

You can find more information about alcohol sales on Nevada ABC’s website or the Nevada Department of Taxation website.

Why learn with us

icon

We’ve been trusted by millions of learners to provide their regulatory-approved training.

icon

You get simple to follow course content that you can access anytime, anywhere.

icon

We're here for you 7 days a week with online chat and toll-free phone support.

icon

You’re in good hands. We’ve been in business for over 20 years.