How do I get my New Hampshire alcohol server certificate?
Getting your responsible alcohol service training is quick and easy in New Hampshire. Just complete a training program and pass the multiple-choice test. You'll get a certificate of completion right away. Give a copy to your employer for their records and keep one for your own. Enroll in our alcohol server training course today to get started!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
Does New Hampshire law require responsible alcohol server training?
New Hampshire requires licensees and designated managers to complete a mandatory Management Training Seminar (MTS) within 45 days of licensing. The course is only valid when provided through the New Hampshire Liquor Commission (NHLC).
At the server level, New Hampshire doesn't regulate training. However, many employers in New Hampshire require responsible alcohol service training, because the NHLC and/or local liquor authorities may consider it as a mitigating factor if an employee violates liquor law.
Note: New Hampshire doesn't publish a list of approved third-party training providers at this time.
How long does responsible alcohol server certification last?
In their FAQs, the NHLC recommends annual training for employees.
Why should I take New Hampshire alcohol server training?
Many employers in New Hampshire will require alcohol server training due to the potential mitigating benefits. But more importantly, employers want you to take responsible alcohol server certification because knowledge of the law can prevent you from violating it in the first place.
That's important because without mitigation, criminal penalties can be stiff in New Hampshire. Prohibited Sales like serving a minor or an intoxicated person are a Class B misdemeanor that can carry a fine of $1200.
If that sale causes bodily injury, the state may upgrade that to a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a $2,000 fine and/or one year in jail. Establishments can also be held liable in civil court by the injured party because New Hampshire enforces a Dram Shop law.
New Hampshire has a lower than average rate of drunk driving deaths, but the rate can never be low enough. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 399 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in New Hampshire from 2003 to 2012. As a server, you may be able to prevent a few deaths by practicing what you learn in responsible alcohol server training.
What jobs can I get with my responsible alcohol server certificate?
Alcohol server training can help anyone who serves or sells alcohol to execute their duties safely and legally. That includes bartenders, wait staff, and store clerks for businesses that have an on- or off-premises liquor license.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in New Hampshire.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$10.18||$21,180|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $18.62 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in New Hampshire?
You can find more information about alcohol sales on the NHLC’s website.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our alcohol server training.