How do I get my New Jersey alcohol server certificate?
To get your alcohol server certificate, you just need to complete a training course and pass the final exam. Once you do that, you’re done. Simply give a copy of your alcohol certificate to your employer. Get started now with our New Jersey alcohol server training course!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
Does New Jersey law require responsible alcohol server training?
In New Jersey, there’s no state law mandating alcohol awareness training for selling or serving alcohol.
However, many employers in New Jersey require it. That’s because employers that train staff in a responsible alcohol service training program may gain mitigating benefits in the event of a violation. But always confirm any benefits with the New Jersey Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Additionally, New Jersey doesn’t have a specific list of approved providers. However, you can be assured that alcohol training from Learn2Serve by 360training will teach you how to keep yourself and your employer safe from violations.
How long does responsible alcohol server certification last?
There are no mandated training requirements in New Jersey, so it’s up to your employer or local liquor authority to determine when you need to get recertified.
We always recommend retaking the training course every 2-3 years to get a refresher on the laws and best practices.
Why should I take New Jersey alcohol server training?
Beyond any mitigating benefits to your employer, alcohol training will help you reduce drunk driving by teaching you how to refuse service to someone who's had too much to drink.
That's important because according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 1,816 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in New Jersey from 2003 to 2012.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server-seller certificate?
There are many different kinds of jobs that might want you to have an alcohol training certificate. This is especially true for positions where you must serve or sell alcohol for on-premises or off-premises consumption. That includes bartenders, servers, and store clerks.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in New Jersey:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$11.62||$24,160|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $21.25 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in New Jersey?
If you are looking for more information about alcohol laws and training requirements in New Jersey, you can visit the New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety.
You can also visit our training course for alcohol servers in New Jersey to learn more about the specific topics covered.