What is an Alcohol Server Permit in New Mexico?
An alcohol server permit verifies that you’ve completed New Mexico-approved Alcohol Server Education.
Does New Mexico law require Alcohol Server Education?
Yes. New Mexico requires anyone serving or selling alcoholic beverages (or supervising those that do) to complete approved alcohol server training.
Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol server training is NOT valid in New Mexico.
Servers are no longer required to keep their permit card on them at all times, but you'll need to give a copy to your employer since they're required to keep a copy of all server permits on the premises.
How long does a New Mexico TEMPORARY Alcohol Server Permit last?
Temporary Server Permits are only valid for 120 days. If you fail to receive your permanent Alcohol Server Permit before that time period is up, you need to contact New Mexico Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) immediately.
How long does an official New Mexico Alcohol Server Permit last?
Your Alcohol Server Permit expires three years after the issue date. You need to repeat the course BEFORE the expiration date in order to avoid work interruptions.
Why should I take New Mexico Alcohol Server Education?
First of all, the state-specific, state-approved course is required by law in New Mexico. Working without a valid permit will get you a $500 fine.
Additionally, the New Mexico ABC imposes harsh penalties for violations of the Liquor Control Act. If you serve alcohol to a minor or intoxicated person, the first offense will cost you (personally) up to $500, a 30-day suspension, or both. Then your employer can be slapped with a $1,000-2,000 fine and a one-day suspension from alcohol sales. Three offenses for either of you, and you're out.
Alcohol server training also helps you keep customers safe from drunk driving in New Mexico, where the death rate from such accidents is much higher than the national average. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 1,254 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in New Mexico from 2003 to 2012. By practicing responsible beverage service, you can be part of the solution to New Mexico's drunk driving.
What jobs can I get with my Alcohol Server Permit?
New Mexico requires an Alcohol Server Permit for all:
- Wait staff (if serving alcohol)
- Convenience or Grocery Store Clerks
- Managers and supervisors of all of the above
This includes a variety of establishments, like bars, restaurants, lounges, hotels, caterers, event spaces, and package stores.
If you’re wondering how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data on New Mexico bartenders and barbacks from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.39||$19,520|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make $13.20 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in New Mexico?
You can find more information on alcohol sales at NM ABC’s website, including:
- License search and licensing information
- Fee and penalty schedules
- Frequently asked questions