How do I get my North Carolina Alcohol Server Certification?
Taking an online alcohol seller course is the quickest way to get North Carolina alcohol seller-server certification. Once you've completed the course and passed the final exam, you'll get immediate access to a certificate of completion. Enroll now in our North Carolina alcohol server training course!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
What is a North Carolina bar card?
A bar card or alcohol seller-server certificate verifies that you’ve completed a North Carolina-approved alcohol server training program, such as the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does North Carolina law require responsible alcohol seller/server training?
Sort of. Responsible seller-server training is legally required for anyone applying for an ABC permit.
In other words, business owners. They have to show proof of training on their application, and the training has to be through the North Carolina Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) commission itself or one of their approved training providers, like Learn2Serve by 360training.
At the server level, training isn't regulated by the state, but it may be required by your employer. In North Carolina, it often is.
How long does alcohol seller-server certification last?
Alcohol seller/server training generally needs to be repeated every 2-3 years, to help you remember and practice responsible alcohol service effectively. Check with your employer to see what they prefer.
Why should I take North Carolina alcohol server training?
It's often required by employers in North Carolina. They want to be sure you know the law and best practices so you don't put their liquor license at risk. Alcohol seller-server training certificates are one way they can confirm that you do.
In North Carolina, you have the right to refuse service to anyone. If you're unsure of their age, level of intoxication, or intent to provide alcohol to a minor, you can refuse to sell alcohol to a customer. By taking advantage of those rights, you can protect yourself and your employer. You can also help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in North Carolina.
From 2003 to 2012, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) report a total of 4,102 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in North Carolina—that's higher than the national average.
The purpose of our North Carolina alcohol server training is to teach you the rules and best practices for safe and legal alcohol sales. That protects your employer, your customers, and you, too.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller-server certification?
Basically, any business that needs someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work. That includes on-premises alcohol service at bars, restaurants, and clubs, or off-premises alcohol sales at supermarkets, corner stores, or ABC stores.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in North Carolina.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.76||$20,310|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $20.80 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in North Carolina?
You can find more information on alcohol sales at the ABC Commission’s website, including:
- ABC store locator
- Beer & wine search
- General permit information
- Audit information
- Liquor pricing
If you are looking for more course information from us check out our North Carolina-specific alcohol seller training.