North Dakota Alcohol Server Training

How do I get my North Dakota alcohol server training?

Taking an alcohol sever training course is easy when you complete it online. Once you complete the lessons and pass the final exam, you get your certificate of completion right away. To start training now, enroll in one of our North Dakota alcohol seller-server courses!
 

Individual Course

Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)

Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.

7.50
Details Buy Now
Individual Course

Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)

Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.

8.00
Details Buy Now

Does North Dakota law require alcohol server training?

It depends.

Certain local governments have alcohol server training ordinances, including

  • Williston
  • Dickinson
  • Grand Forks
  • Fargo
  • Watford City
  • West Fargo

Elsewhere, alcohol server training isn't required by state law, but many employers in North Dakota require it, because it can limit their liability if an employee sells to someone they shouldn't.

For instance, licensees can face criminal charges for serving alcohol to anyone underage. North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) § 5-01-06.1 states that licensees who give alcohol to anyone under 21 years old or allow them on-premises while alcohol is being sold will be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

But if you’ve taken an approved training course that addresses intoxication, drunk driving, and underage drinking, there will be a less severe punishment for a first-time violation because North Dakota offers mitigating benefits.

Please note that we always recommend double-checking your local/county training requirements. Additionally, you should confirm with your employer which alcohol courses are approved at your job.

How long does responsible alcohol server certification last?

North Dakota doesn't regulate alcohol training, so you should check with your employer or local jurisdiction for recommendations. However, regular refreshers are the key to compliance, which why it’s a good idea to renew your alcohol seller-server certificate every 2-3 years. 

Why should I take North Dakota alcohol server training?

The goal of alcohol training is to help you do your job safely. Because when you do, you’re keeping the entire community safe.

For example, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 502 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in North Dakota from 2003 to 2012. Also, North Dakota has the highest rate of drunk driving fatalities in the nation, far above the national average.

By practicing what you learn in alcohol server training, you can help bring that number down.

What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?

You can use take what the alcohol training teaches you and apply it to a number of different jobs. You can also leverage your certification to make yourself more attractive to potential employers.

If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in North Dakota.

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Bartender $10.04 $20,880
Bartender Helper (Barback) $11.31 $23,530

Where can I get more information about alcohol training in North Dakota?

You can find more information on alcohol regulations in North Dakota on the Attorney General’s website:

If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our alcohol server training.

Why learn with us

icon

We’ve been trusted by millions of learners to provide their regulatory-approved training.

icon

You get simple to follow course content that you can access anytime, anywhere.

icon

We're here for you 7 days a week with online chat and toll-free phone support.

icon

You’re in good hands. We’ve been in business for over 20 years.