How do I get my Oklahoma alcohol server certificate?
Getting your alcohol server certificate is easy in Oklahoma. First, you complete a training course. Then, you pass the final exam. And that’s it! You can print your certificate of completion right away and use it to show proof of training. Enroll now in our Oklahoma-approved alcohol seller-server training!
Oklahoma Alcohol Seller-Server Training
Credit Hours: 2 Credit Type: Certificate
Learn how to safely serve alcohol in Oklahoma by starting our training course.
Satisfy your alcohol training requirements in Oklahoma with our ABLE-approved course. You’ll learn about the laws for safely serving alcohol so that you can protect yourself and your employer from liability. Our alcohol server training covers a variety of topics, such as the ways alcohol affects the mind and body, how to verify if someone’s intoxicated, methods for maintaining a safe environment, how to check ID cards, and much more. To earn your certificate,...
Does Oklahoma law require I take an alcohol training course?
Yes. As of October 1, 2018, the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission requires every employee to complete an approved training course.
Additionally, the regulations state that you must provide a certificate of training completion to the Commission either by mail, in person, or electronic submission.
You can find the list of approved alcohol sever training providers, including Learn2Serve by 360training, on the ABLE Commission’s website.
To keep your alcohol certification current, you need to re-take the training course every three years.
But we always recommend double checking with your employer and local authorities to determine if they have different requirements for renewals.
Why should I take Oklahoma alcohol server training?
Criminal penalties in Oklahoma can be harsh for selling alcohol to a minor or someone who is intoxicated.
In fact, if someone knowing sells alcoholic beverages to anyone who is under 21 or visibly intoxicated, it’s considered a major violation and can result in your employer’s license getting revoked.
So, when you complete training, you not only protect your employer, but you help keep the community safe. Because drunk driving is a serious issue.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 2,205 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Oklahoma from 2003 to 2012. This is much higher than the national average.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?
What you learn in training will apply for any job where you work with alcohol, whether that’s at a bar, restaurant, or liquor store.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Oklahoma.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.49||$19,730|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $16.18 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Oklahoma?
You can find more information about alcohol laws on the ABLE Commission’s website. You can learn about:
- The Enforcement Division and its responsibilities
- How to prevent underage tobacco sales
- The complete alcohol sales rules
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Oklahoma alcohol seller-server training.