Get Your Rhode Island Alcohol Training
- Comprehensive learning objectives
- 100% online, train at your own pace
- Mobile, user-friendly format
- Print your certificate after passing
Does Rhode Island law require alcohol server training?
Yes. Rhode Island requires anyone involved in the sale of alcoholic beverages to complete a certified alcohol server training program within 60 days of employment.
That includes any employee who sells or serves alcohol, checks IDs, provides valet parking, or supervises any of those activities.
Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol server training is NOT valid in Rhode Island.
How long does Rhode Island alcohol server training last?
Your training certification expires three years after the issue date. At that point, you'll need to retake a certified alcohol server training program.
Why should I take Rhode Island alcohol server training?
First of all, the state-approved course is required by law in Rhode Island.
Additionally, learning the liquor laws of Rhode Island is important because violations (knowing or unknowing) can result in fines, license suspensions and more from the Department of Business Regulation (DBR).
Alcohol server training also helps you keep customers safe from drunk driving in Rhode Island. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 308 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Rhode Island from 2003 to 2012. While that's lower than the national average rate, it's still too many deaths.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server training?
There are many different establishments where you can use your alcohol server training like:
- Event spaces
- And more…
You'll need training for jobs where you serve or sell alcohol, check IDs, attend to valet parking, or supervise any of the above.
If you’re wondering about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Rhode Island.
|Average Hourly Wage
|Average Yearly Wage
|Bartender Helper (Barback)
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $18.23 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Rhode Island?
You can find more information on alcohol sales in Rhode Island at the DBR’s website, including:
- Licensee lookups
- State liquor control FAQs
- Appeal hearing notices
- Bulletins and latest news