GET YOUR UTAH ALCOHOL CERTIFICATION QUICKLY!
- UT DABS-approved courses
- Licenses valid for 3 years
- Mobile-friendly, self-paced format
- Free, downloadable certificate
Which Course Should I Take?
Find out which Utah Alcohol course or package is best for you.
Get trained on Utah’s E.A.S.Y. alcohol laws for off-premise beverage sellers.
Sign up for our alcohol training to comply with Utah on-premise server laws.
Select this package for Utah-approved food handler and alcohol server training.
How do I get my Utah Alcohol Server-Seller Certification?
Taking an online course is the fastest way to get Utah Off-Premises or On-Premises Alcohol Server training. Get your temporary certificate of completion as soon as you pass the final exam. Enroll now in one of our Utah-approved alcohol awareness training courses!
What is the difference between Utah server training and EASY training?
In Utah, there are two types of alcohol employee training.
On-premises server training is for employees who serve alcohol that will be consumed on the property, in restaurants, clubs, bars, taverns, and more.
Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth (E.A.S.Y.) training is for store clerks that sell alcohol for off-premises consumption, in grocery stores, convenience stores, liquor stores, and more.
Please note, managers and owners with either type of license need Mandatory Manager Training instead. This training is only offered through the state.
Does Utah law require alcohol employee training?
Yes. Utah requires all employees involved in alcohol sales and service to complete training within 30 days of hire. Training must be completed through an approved provider, like Learn2Serve by 360training.
Once your training is complete, you'll get a certificate of completion to print as temporary proof of training for your employer. We'll also notify the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) of your course completion, so they process your official card.
DABC will NOT mail a hard copy of your official permit to you. You'll have to print it from their portal.
How long does alcohol employee training last?
On-premises server training expires three years after the issue date.
EASY training is good for five years from the date it’s issued.
Why should I take Utah alcohol server training?
First of all, if you work in alcohol service, you have to take either on-premises training, EASY training, or manager training. It's the law.
Additionally, learning Utah's alcohol laws can help you and your employer avoid a legal violation and the consequences that come with it. DABC enforces harsh penalties for serving or selling alcohol to minors under the age of 21.
In Utah, charges depend on whether the sale is made knowingly (a Class A misdemeanor) or out of recklessness like failing to check ID (a Class B misdemeanor). Even a Class B misdemeanor can mean facing up to $1,000 fine, up to six months in jail, or both. Class A is punishable by up to $2500 and/or a year in jail.
There will also be consequences for your employer.
Finally, learning responsible alcohol service can help you maintain public safety by the prevention of drunk driving. From 2003 to 2012, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) states that a total of 469 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Utah. That's lower than the national average, but still far too many lives to lose.
Check out our Utah on-premises or EASY courses to learn more about safe and legal alcohol sales.
What jobs can I get with my EASY or on-premises server training?
It depends on which course you take.
EASY training qualifies you for non-managerial positions in establishments that are licensed for off-premises sales. In other words, jobs like a sales clerk in a liquor store, grocery store, or convenience store.
If, on the other hand, you want to serve alcohol for on-premises consumption like in bars, restaurants, or hotels, you need on-premises server training.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Utah.
|Average Hourly Wage
|Average Yearly Wage
|Bartender Helper (Barback)
The top 90th percentile of bartenders make much more money: $21.93 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Utah?
You can find more information on alcohol sales at DABC’s website, including:
- Manager training opportunities
- Licenses and permits, including online renewal
- Monthly product price books
- Resources for parents to prevent underage drinking
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Utah-approved EASY or on-premises alcohol server training.