How do I get my Washington State MAST permit?
Getting your MAST permit in Washington State is easy. Simply complete a state-approved Mandatory Alcohol Server Training program and pass the final exam.
Your trainer will provide a certificate of completion immediately for download and notify the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB). The WSLCB will mail your official MAST permit.
Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol server training is NOT valid in Washington State at this time.
What is a MAST permit in Washington State?
A MAST permit verifies that you've completed Washington State Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST). You may also hear MAST permits referred to as Class 12 or Class 13 permits.
Class 13 permits are for underage servers (18-, 19-, and 20-year-olds). It allows you to take alcohol orders, carry alcohol to a customer, or pour alcohol into a customer's glass at a customer's table.
Once you turn 21, you're eligible to upgrade to or apply for a Class 12 permit. Once you have a Class 12 permit, you can also draw alcohol from taps, mix drinks, manage the establishment, and conduct alcohol tastings. At least one Class 12 permit holder has to be on duty at an on-premises establishment at all times.
Does Washington State law require alcohol server training?
Yes, if you serve on-premises. Washington State requires alcohol training of bartenders, servers, and supervisors or managers in establishments licensed for on-premises consumption.
They have to complete a MAST class from an Washington-certified training provider within 60 days of employment. You need to have your MAST permit plus a valid form of ID readily available for inspection any time you are serving alcohol. Some employers will also want a copy of your permit, but you should keep the original for yourself.
For employees of off-premises beer, wine, or spirit retailers, there is a voluntary program called the Responsible Vendor Program (RVP). The WSLCB sets standards and provides sample programs, and training is intended to be in-house.
How long does MAST permit last?
Your MAST permit expires five years after the issue date. You need to repeat the course and earn a new MAST permit before your expiration. The WSLCB recommends that you start a new course 45 days before your current expiration because there is no grace period for renewal.
You or your employer can check the status of your MAST permit on LCB's website.
What jobs can I get with my MAST permit?
There are many different on-premises establishments where you can work with your MAST permit: bars, clubs, lounges, restaurants, hotels, and more.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for Washington State:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$13.37||$27,810|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $25.93 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Washington State?
You can find more information on alcohol sales at WSLCB’s website, including:
- Available license types
- Washington state alcohol laws and rules
- Alcohol impact areas and other enforcement information