How do I get Wisconsin Responsible Beverage Server Training?
Getting responsible beverage server training is easy. Just complete the required training, pass the final exam, and download your certificate of completion to use in your operator's license application. To complete the process even faster, make sure to take a Wisconsin-approved online course like ours. Enroll in our alcohol server training course now!
Wisconsin Responsible Beverage Server + Food Handler Training
Complete training online with our responsible beverage and food handler package.
Wisconsin Responsible Beverage Server Training
Enroll now to easily meet your Wisconsin alcohol server training requirements.
What is a Wisconsin operator's license?
An operator's license (also called a bartender's license or sales clerk's license) verifies that you're eligible to serve alcohol in Wisconsin and you've completed a Wisconsin-approved Responsible Beverage Server Training Course, such as the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does Wisconsin law require Responsible Beverage Server Training?
Yes. Wisconsin requires all alcohol servers and sellers acquire an operator's license, and Responsible Beverage Server Training is a mandatory part of the licensing process.
You need to take a training program approved by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) like the one Learn2Serve by 360training offers.
Also, before you can earn your certificate of completion and apply for your operator’s license, you must first pass a short online Tobacco test to ensure you understand the laws for preventing underage tobacco consumption.
How long does a Wisconsin bartender's license last?
Your Wisconsin operator's license is valid only in the municipality where it was issued. The issuing municipality determines how long the operator's license lasts, but it will either be one year or two.
Why should I take Wisconsin responsible beverage server training?
First of all, if you want to serve or sell alcohol in Wisconsin, completing the course is required by law.
Additionally, you need to learn Wisconsin liquor laws so that you can avoid accidentally violating them.
The consequences can be drastic, particularly the penalties for serving or selling alcohol to minors under the age of 21. For a first offence, you can face a fine up to $500. Repeat offenders can face fines up to $10,000, up to 9 months in prison, or both.
Worse, if that minor dies or is seriously injured as a result, you can be charged with a Class H or Class G felony.
Alcohol servers also play a critical role in public safety. In Wisconsin between 2003 and 2012, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recorded 2,577 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver, which is higher than the national average. Responsible beverage server training arms you with best practices for refusing service to intoxicated persons safely, so that you can be part of the solution.
What jobs can I get with my Wisconsin operator's license?
You need an operator's license to serve or sell alcohol in establishments with on-premises OR off-premises licenses. That includes:
- Convenience stores
- Grocery stores
- Liquor stores
- And more…
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make tending bar, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Wisconsin.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.64||$20,060|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $15.37 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Wisconsin?
You can find more information on alcohol sales on the Wisconsin DOR’s website, including:
- A listing of current permit-holders and permit applications
- Types of retail licenses and licensee responsibilities
- Wisconsin alcohol beverage statutes and administrative rules
- Alcohol beverage tax information
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Wisconsin Responsible Beverage Server Training course.