How do I get my Wyoming alcohol server certificate?
Getting an alcohol server certificate in Wyoming is easy. Just complete a state-approved training program and pass the final exam. You'll get a certificate of completion to print or download right away. Give a copy to your employer for their records and keep a copy for yourself. Enroll in our Wyoming-approved alcohol server training course today to get started!
Does Wyoming law require responsible alcohol server training?
Alcohol server training isn't required by state law.
However, some cities or counties have stricter training requirements. For example, the city of Cheyenne requires an alcohol server certificate for bartenders. Check with your employer or city/county clerk's office to make sure you're meeting local requirements.
Even when it's not required by state or local law, many employers in Wyoming require servers to complete alcohol server education that has been approved by the Wyoming Liquor Division (WLD).
That's because the WLD may choose to mitigate penalties for employers who do so. And before it gets to that point, knowing the law and best practices for safe and legal alcohol service can prevent you from committing violations in the first place.
You can confirm that Learn2Serve by 360training is an approved online alcohol training provider on the Wyoming Liquor Division’s website.
How long does alcohol server certification last?
Alcohol server certifications in Wyoming expire three years after their issue date.
Why should I take Wyoming alcohol server training?
Many employers in Wyoming will either require or prefer to hire employees with alcohol server training, because it reduces the risk that you'll violate liquor law and endanger their license.
Even if your employer doesn't require it, you should consider taking the course for your own benefit. Violating liquor law, it doesn't just put your employer's liquor license at risk. It could also cost you cold hard cash.
Additionally, learning how to safely refuse service to someone who is intoxicated can save a life. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a total of 506 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Wyoming from 2003 to 2012.
Wyoming has a significantly higher rate of drunk driving fatalities than the rest of the country—more than twice the national average.
So, by practicing what you learn in our online Wyoming-approved alcohol server training, you can protect yourself, your employer, and your community.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?
You can use what you learn in alcohol server training for any position where you serve or sell alcohol in a licensed establishment.
That includes bartending or waiting tables in a bar, restaurant, or other business where alcohol is served for consumption on the premises. It also includes working as a store clerk at a liquor store, grocery store, or convenience store where people buy alcohol to drink elsewhere.
Managers or supervisors should also complete alcohol server/seller training.
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Wyoming.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$10.35||$21,520|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make $15.63 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Wyoming?
You can find more information about alcohol sales on the WLD’s website.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Wyoming-approved alcohol server training.