How do I get a food handler certification in Texas?
Getting your food handler permit in Texas is easy. You simply need to complete a training course and pass a test, then you’ll have your permit. Additionally, many programs allow you to print your food handler card right away so that you can get to work fast. Enroll now to get your food handler card in Texas.
Does Texas require a food handlers certificate?
Yes. Under the Texas Administrative Code Rule §228.33, it states that within 60 days of employment all food employees must complete an accredited food handler training course.
The TXDSHS clarifies that food employees refers to anyone who works with unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact surfaces. Some examples of food service establishments that have food employees include:
- Casual and fine-dining restaurants
- Fast food restaurants
- Coffee shops
- Convenience stores
- Food trucks
- Sandwich shops
Once you have your food handler card, give a copy to your employer so that they can keep it on hand. Texas laws state that your employer must have your certificate of completion available on premise at all times in either an electronic format or hard copy.
Can I take an online course to get my food handler card?
When it comes to food handler training in Texas, you can take your course online or in-person. But it’s important to note that any course you take must be accredited.
This means that the training program has been approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services (TXDSHS) or the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), such as the Learn2Serve, by 360training, courses.
Enroll in our online food handler card training to meet your state requirements in Texas.
How long does a Texas Food Handlers License last?
Your food handler license is valid for two years. Once the two years is up, your license expires, and you’ll need to complete the food handler training course again.
Why should I take food handler training?
First of all, if you plan on working as a food employee, the state of Texas requires that you complete a food handler training course. Additionally, you need to know how to prevent foodborne illnesses.
In the year 2017, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported that there was a total of 27 foodborne disease outbreaks in Texas. This is actually up from the 23 reported in the year 2016 and down from the 34 reported in the year 2015.
A good training program teaches you best practices for food safety that will ensure you keep yourself and your customers safe from foodborne illnesses.
What jobs can I get in Texas with my food handler license?
As we stated above, there are several establishments you can work at with your Texas food handler license. And within each establishment there are numerous jobs. In fact, the food and beverage industry in Texas is growing extremely fast.
According to the Texas Restaurant Association, in 2019 there were 1,344,200 restaurant and food service jobs, which translates to 10% of total employment. More importantly, that number is projected to grow 15.2% by the year 2029.
If you’re looking to get a job in the food and beverage industry in Texas, here are some good options, along with how much money you can expect to make based on wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Fast Food Cook||$10.09||$21,000|
Another thing to note is that you’ll need your Texas food handler card to get any of these jobs. And if you already have it before you apply, you’ll be way ahead of the competition!
Where can I find more information about food safety in Texas?
Texas Secretary of State: Here you’ll find the published versions of rules and regulations, including the Texas Administrative Code.
Texas Department of State Health Services: This department focuses on public health and publishes information on food safety, permits, and licensing.