Texas Food Handlers Training Online

  • New Interactive, Engaging Courses
  • Mobile-Friendly, Self-Paced Format
  • Print Your Free Certificate Instantly
  • ANAB-Accredited, Texas DSHS-Approved

SELECT A STATE:

English

Which Course Should I Take?

Find out which food handler course or package is best for you.

Valid in Texas
Valid Nationally (Food)
Texas Alcohol Training
Years Valid
Individual Course

TEXAS FOOD HANDLER CERTIFICATE

Get your Texas Food Handler card in 2 hours with our TX DSHS-accredited course.

Quantity
10.00 7.00
Valid in Texas
green-check
Valid Nationally (Food)
monochrome-cross
Texas Alcohol Training
monochrome-cross
Years Valid

2 Years

Package Courses

TEXAS FOOD HANDLER CERTIFICATE + TABC

Get your Texas Food Handler card + TABC Certification with this bundle.

Quantity
15.99
Valid in Texas
green-check
Valid Nationally (Food)
monochrome-cross
Texas Alcohol Training
green-check
Years Valid

2 Years

Individual Course

NATIONAL FOOD HANDLER CERTIFICATE

Get your Food Handler card in just 2 hours with our ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB)-accredited course.

Quantity
9.99
Coupon Terms
Coupon
Terms
Valid in Texas
green-check
Valid Nationally (Food)
green-check
Texas Alcohol Training
monochrome-cross
Years Valid

3 Years

Package Courses

NATIONAL FOOD HANDLER CERTIFICATE + TABC

Get your ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB)-accredited Food Handler card + TABC Certification with this bundle.

Quantity
16.99
Valid in Texas
green-check
Valid Nationally (Food)
green-check
Texas Alcohol Training
green-check
Years Valid

3 Years

How Do I Get a Food Handlers Card in Texas?

Getting your food handler license in Texas is easy! You need to complete a training course and pass a test, and then you’ll have a food handler permit valid for Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, Austin, or wherever you live in the state.

Learn2Serve® allows you to print your certificate immediately, so you can get to work fast. Our NEW ANAB-accredited food handler course features engaging games and interactive quizzes. Enroll now and get certified!

Does the State of Texas Require a Food Handlers License?

Yes, the Texas Administrative Code Rule §228.33 states that within 60 days of employment, all food employees must complete an accredited training course.

The TXDSHS clarifies that food employees refer to anyone who works with unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact surfaces.

Some examples of food service establishments that have food employees include:

  • Casual and fine-dining restaurants
  • Fast food restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bakeries
  • Convenience stores
  • Food trucks
  • Sandwich shops

Once you have your card, give your employer a copy so they can keep it on hand. State laws express that your employer must have your certificate of completion available on-premise at all times in either an electronic format or hard copy.

How Can I Get My Food Handler Certificate Online?

You can take your course online or in person regarding food handler training in Texas. But it’s important to note that any course you take must be accredited.

This means that the training program has been approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services (TXDSHS) or the ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB), such as the Learn2Serve food handler course.

Enroll in our TABC Certification & food handler training to get your Texas alcohol and good handler training at once!

How Long Does a Texas Food Handlers License last?

Your food handler license is valid for two years. Once the two years are up, your license will expire, and you’ll need to complete the online course again.

Why Should I Take Food Handler Training?

First, if you plan on working as a food employee, the state requires you to complete an online training course. Additionally, you need to know how to prevent foodborne illnesses.

In 2017, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported a total of 27 foodborne disease outbreaks in TX. This is up from the 23 reported in 2016 and down from the 34 reported in 2015.

A good training program teaches you best practices for food safety that will ensure you keep yourself and your customers safe from foodborne illnesses.

What Jobs Can I Get in TX with a License?

As we stated above, there are several establishments you can work at with your food handlers license. And within each establishment, there are numerous jobs. The food and beverage industry in Texas is growing extremely fast.

According to the Texas Restaurant Association, in 2019, there were 1,344,200 restaurant and food service jobs, which translates to 10% of total employment. More importantly, that number is projected to grow by 15.2% by 2029.

If you’re looking to get a job in the food and beverage industry in Texas, here are some excellent options, along with how much money you can expect to make based on wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Dishwasher $10.31 $ 21,440
Waiter/Waitress $11.31 $23,520
Fast Food Cook $10.09 $21,000
Restaurant Cook $12.21 $25,400

Another thing to note is that you’ll need your card to get any of these jobs. And if you already have it before you apply, you’ll be way ahead of the competition!

Where Can I Find More Information About Food Safety in Texas?

Texas Secretary of State: Here, you’ll find the published versions of rules and regulations, including the Texas Administrative Code.

Texas Department of State Health Services: This department focuses on public health and publishes information on food safety, permits, and licensing.

Why learn with us

icon

We’ve been trusted by millions of learners to provide their regulatory-approved training.

icon

You get simple to follow course content that you can access anytime, anywhere.

icon

We're here for you with online chat and toll-free phone support.

icon

You’re in good hands. We’ve been in business for over 20 years.

Let's Chat!