No matter where you are on your real estate journey, it's easy to meet Florida real estate training requirements with us. We're approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) for pre-license courses, post-license courses, and continuing education.
Our courses are online and mobile-friendly for your convenience. Work through your required education at your own pace, on your own schedule.
Florida 63 Hour Premium Prelicense Package
Includes mandatory FREC-approved pre-license credits, license exam prep & more!
Florida 63 Hour Real Estate Prelicense Basic Package
Get FREC-approved pre-license training plus free real estate math practice.
What Are Florida's Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Requirements?
FREC requires 63 hours of pre-licensing coursework from an approved provider like Agent Campus by 360training. The curriculum must include:
- Real Estate Business Overview
- Real Estate License Law and Qualifications for Licensure
- Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules
- Authorized Relationships, Duties and Disclosure
- Real Estate Brokerage Activities and Procedures
- Violations of License Law, Penalties and Procedures
- Federal and State Laws Pertaining to Real Estate
- Property Rights
- Title, Deeds and Ownership Restrictions
- Legal Descriptions
- Real Estate Contracts
- Residential Mortgages
- Types of Mortgages and Sources of Financing
- Real Estate Related Computations and Closing of Transactions
- Real Estate Markets and Analysis
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Investments and Business Opportunity Brokerage
- Taxes Affecting Real Estate
- Planning and Zoning
Who is Eligible to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida?
To be licensed in Florida, you need to be at least 18 years old, have a Social Security Number, and hold either a high school diploma or GED.
What Else Do I Need to Do to Earn My Florida Real Estate License?
Aside from your pre-license coursework, you need to:
- Submit your fingerprints at least 5 days before submitting your application
- Submit a completed application for licensure (before or after your pre-license coursework)
- Pass the Florida Real Estate Salesperson Exam within 2 years of completing your pre-license coursework
Afterwards, you'll also need to activate your license with an employing broker. You'll also have to complete a 45-hour post-licensing course before your first license expiration.
What is the Florida Real Estate Licensing Exam Like?
Within 2 years of completing your pre-licensing course, you need to pass your Florida Real Estate Salesperson Exam. We recommend you make use of our exam preparation course with study guides and practice exams to help you make the grade the first time.
The exam is administered by a third-party testing company named Pearson VUE at a number of testing sites throughout the state. It consists of 100 multiple choice questions with a time limit of 3.5 hours.
You'll find out whether you passed before you leave.
What If I'm Already Licensed in Another State?
Florida has mutual recognition agreements with 8 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska and Rhode Island.
If you're coming from one of those states, you just need to:
- Meet the eligibility criteria for Florida
- Hold a valid, current, and active license in good standing with one of those states – required duration of licensure varies by state
- Pass the Florida-specific portion of the real estate exam
- NOT be a resident of Florida at the time of application
Then you qualify for an equivalent license type in Florida. Once licensed, you'll need to complete Florida's post-licensing requirements.
If your state isn't on that list, you'll probably need to follow your destination state's licensing requirements.
What Are the Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements in Florida?
Before your first license renewal as a salesperson, you need to complete 45 hours of post-license education. The only way you're exempt is if you have a four-year degree in real estate from an accredited college.
Classes marked as "continuing education" do NOT count towards your post-license requirements. You need a specific Florida post-license curriculum.
When is my Post-License Coursework Due?
In Florida, real estate licenses have to be renewed every other year. Expirations dates are always either March 31st or September 30th. Because of these fixed dates, the window to get your post-license education may be as short as 18 months or as long as 24.
It's critical to finish your required coursework ahead of the deadline. If your post-license credits are reported late, your license will be null and void. You'll have to repeat the entire application process.
Make sure your post-license education and renewal application are postmarked or electronically submitted by midnight EST on the date of your license's expiration. When expirations fall on a holiday or weekend, Florida extends your renewal period to midnight EST of the next business day.
45-Hour Florida Real Estate Salesperson Post-License Course
Duration Hours: 45
Meet FREC’s mandatory post-license training requirements online and on time.
Before your first salesperson license renewal, the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requires 45 hours of post-license education with an approved provider like us. Once you pass your final exam, you'll get a certificate of completion for your own records. We'll also submit your credits to FREC. Note: In Florida, it's critical to complete your first license renewal on time. State law says that if you don't meet post-license requirements by the deadline, your license will be...
How Often Does a Florida Real Estate License Have to Be Renewed?
Once your first renewal is done, licenses have to be renewed every 24 months (2 full years). Your expiration will either be March 31st or September 30th, the same as your first renewal.
What Are Florida's Continuing Education Requirements for Real Estate?
Regardless of your license category, FREC's continuing education requirements are the same once post-license requirements are fulfilled: 14 hours from an approved provider, including:
- 8-hours of specialty credit
- 3-hours dedicated to an update of Florida laws
- 3-hours dedicated to Ethics and Business Practices
Continuing Education hours must be REPORTED before midnight on the effective date of expiration. That means March 31st or September 30th, depending on what time of year your license was issued. If your expiration falls on a holiday or weekend, the renewal period is extended to midnight EST of the next business day.
If any of the paperwork is late, your license will automatically be placed into inactive status. You'll also be obligated to pay late fees or go through a reactivation process.
Florida 14 Hour CE Renewal Package
Duration Hours: 16
Get all required CE for renewing your sales, broker associate, or broker license.
Apart from your first renewal as a salesperson or broker, the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requires all licensees to complete 14 hours of continuing education every 2 years to earn their license renewal. Those 14 hours must be comprised of: 3 hours dedicated to an update of Florida laws 3 hours of Business Ethics 8 hours of specialty credit Our Florida CE package has everything you need to meet the requirements for a regular renewal. Courses are...
What Kind of Jobs Can I Get with a Florida Real Estate License?
With a Florida real estate license, you can enter into a number of different careers, including:
- Residential real estate agent
- Commercial real estate agent
- Real estate broker
- Property manager
No matter what role you choose, you can choose from a large number of specialties and niches. You'll make more money in some niches than others – unsurprisingly, the more lucrative areas often call for additional certifications or licenses.
To get an idea of your potential earnings in Florida, you can look at the median wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
Your income is largely commission-based in the real estate industry, so your individual income will depend on how well you sell. Some real estate professionals have earnings well below the average. Others make a lot more. In Florida, the top 90th percentile of sales agents make $125,200.
To learn more about career options, niches, specialties, and how commissions work, check out our Resources page.