How do I get my South Carolina alcohol training certificate?
It's quick and easy to get alcohol seller-server training in South Carolina. Simply complete a state-recognized training program and pass the final exam. You'll get a certificate of completion right away. Give a copy to your employer for their records and keep a copy for yourself. Enroll in our South Carolina-recognized alcohol server training course today to get started!
South Carolina Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Learn how to sell and serve alcohol on-premises with our online training course.DETAILS
South Carolina Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in off-premises training to learn South Carolina alcohol requirements.DETAILS
Does South Carolina law require alcohol server training?
Alcohol server training isn't required by state law.
However, many employers in South Carolina require it. That's because it can lessen the sanctions resulting from an employee's violation of liquor laws.
The South Carolina Department of Revenue (DOR) Alcohol Beverage License (ABL) division maintains a list of recognized alcohol server training programs.
If an employee violates liquor laws, the DOR will consider it a "mitigating circumstance" if that employee can provide proof that they completed a recognized training program "within a reasonable period of time before the offense in question."
It doesn't guarantee a reduction of the penalties; it's at the DOR's discretion. Still, many employers prefer to take advantage of this opportunity for penalty reduction and will require all servers to complete a recognized program like the one offered by Learn2Serve by 360training.
How long does alcohol server certification last?
The ABL's advisory opinions only say that completion must be "timely" or "within a reasonable period of time before the offense."
Best practice is to repeat training once every 3 years to keep it fresh on your mind, but you should talk to your employer about what they consider a "reasonable" refresher period.
Why should I take South Carolina alcohol server training?
Many employers in South Carolina will require alcohol server training due to the lessened penalties that the ABL offers.
Training doesn't just reduce your employer's risks. Even if your employer doesn't require it, you might consider alcohol server training to reduce your own liability. Because in South Carolina, a server can face 30 days in prison and a $200-300 fine for a first offense of selling alcohol to a minor.
In addition to protecting yourself and your employer, your server education can help you protect your patrons and the general public. South Carolina has a significantly higher rate of drunk driving fatalities than the national average; a total of 3,870 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in South Carolina from 2003 to 2012, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
By practicing what you learn in our online South Carolina-approved alcohol server training, you can protect your community.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol server certificate?
There are many different kinds of jobs can benefit from alcohol server/seller training, including any position that involves serving or selling alcohol for on-premises or off-premises consumption. That means:
- Bars / Pubs / Taverns
- ABC stores
- Grocery Stores
- Convenience stores
- And more
If you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in South Carolina.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$9.92||$20,630|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $16.20 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in South Carolina?
You can find more information about alcohol sales on the SC ABL’s website.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our South Carolina-approved alcohol server training.