MASSACHUSETTS ALCOHOL TRAINING MADE SIMPLE
Recommended for all alcohol servers/sellers
Accessible on all mobile devices
Comprehensive course material
Free instant certificate after passing
Does Massachusetts law require an Alcohol Server License?
Alcohol seller-server training is recommended in Massachusetts so that you learn how to comply with the laws governing the sale of alcohol. Training usually covers how to:
- Check ID to recognize minors
- Prevent second-party sales
- Prevent customers from becoming inebriated
- Protect your establishment and self from liability
- Recognize the effects of alcohol on customers
- Refuse a sale to intoxicated persons and minors
Some cities or counties have stricter requirements than the state. You should check with your city/county or employer to ensure you meet the training obligations of an alcohol seller or server in your jurisdiction.
Please note, Learn2Serve alcohol seller-server training is not recognized by state or local governments in Massachusetts.
How long does a Bartender License last?
Alcohol seller/server training generally needs to be repeated every 2-3 years, to help you remember and practice responsible alcohol service effectively. Check with your employer or local liquor board to learn when your alcohol seller/server license will expire.
Why should I take Massachusetts alcohol server training?
First of all, your employer may require it. Owners and managers of establishments that are licensed to sell alcohol often require employees to learn how to sell alcohol responsibly.
That's because if you break the law, their license to sell or serve alcohol can be suspended or revoked by the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC).
It's also important to learn about your role in keeping the public and your customers safe. As an alcohol seller or server, your decisions can help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in Massachusetts.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were 1,370 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in Massachusetts from 2003 to 2012. That's lower than the national average, but it's still far too many deaths.
Alcohol seller-server courses cover how to recognize minors or intoxicated customers, as well as strategies for refusing an illegal sale. Check out our alcohol seller/server licensing course to learn about additional topics.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
Alcohol seller training can make you an attractive job candidate in Massachusetts because you'll already have some of the skills and knowledge your employer would have to teach you.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Massachusetts.
|Average Hourly Wage
|Average Yearly Wage
|Bartender Helper (Barback)
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $20.82 an hour. And depending on your preference, skill level, and career goals, there are many different establishments you can work at with your alcohol server-seller certificate, such as:
- Bars and taverns
- Caterers or event spaces
- Package stores, including grocery and convenience stores
- And more…
Basically, any business that needs someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in Massachusetts?
You can find more about alcohol sales in Massachusetts on the ABCC’s website, including:
- Recent news and announcements
- State alcoholic beverage license information
- How to appeal decisions by local licensing authorities
- Frequently asked questions about licensing, penalties, and more