How do I get my West Virginia Alcohol Server Certification?
Getting an alcohol seller certification in West Virginia couldn't be simpler. Take a brief training program, pass the exam, and you can print your certificate of completion right away. Take it to your employer as proof of training. Enroll in our West Virginia alcohol server training course now!
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Off-Premises)
Enroll in training now to learn how to responsibly sell alcohol off-premises.
Alcohol Seller-Server Training (On-Premises)
Sign up today to get trained on how to safely serve alcohol on-premises.
What is a Bar Card in West Virginia?
A bar card or alcohol seller certificate verifies that you’ve completed an alcohol server/seller training program, such as the one we provide at Learn2Serve by 360training.
Does West Virginia law require an Alcohol Server License?
Alcohol seller/server training is recommended in West Virginia to help familiarize you with the state's alcohol sales laws and best practices for compliance. You'll learn how to:
- check ID to recognize minors
- prevent second-party sales
- prevent customers from becoming inebriated
- protect your establishment and self from liability
- recognize the effects of alcohol on customers
- refuse sale to intoxicated persons and minors
Some cities or counties may have different requirements from the state. Ask your city/county or employer about local standards.
Please note, West Virginia does not provide a list of approved training providers.
How long does a Bartender License last?
Alcohol seller/server licenses generally need to be refreshed every 2-3 years. Ask your employer or local liquor authority about their specific standards.
Why should I take West Virginia alcohol server training?
Some employers require alcohol server training to reduce the risk that you'll break the law while serving or selling alcohol. Even if an employer doesn't require it, seeing that you're certified will move your resume to the top of the pile.
It's advantageous to hire people who already know how to follow the law because the penalties your employer faces are no joke.
The West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (WVABCA) enforces stiff penalties for underage drinking. If you sell alcohol to a minor, you could face a fine of up to $5,000, a jail sentence up to one year.
Your employer can also be held liable for injuries caused by intoxication based on common law negligence if you sell alcohol to a minor or an intoxicated person.
Beyond minimizing liability and improving your job prospects, you have a unique opportunity as a seller or server to prevent drunk driving in West Virginia.
According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there were a total of 1,092 people killed in crashes involving a drunk driver in West Virginia from 2003 to 2012. Taking into account population size, that's significantly higher than the national average.
Alcohol seller-server courses cover how to recognize minors or intoxicated customers, as well as strategies for refusing an illegal sale. Check out our alcohol seller/server licensing course to learn about additional topics.
What jobs can I get with my alcohol seller training?
Getting an alcohol seller training certificate can help you out in any job where you sell or serve alcohol, whether it's an establishment licensed for on-premises consumption (like restaurants, bars, etc) or for off-premises sales (like convenience stores, grocery stores, or liquor stores).
Basically, the training will prepare you for any job where someone needs to check ID cards before selling alcohol to the public.
And if you’re curious about how much money you can expect to make, here is some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in West Virginia.
|Job Title||Average Hourly Wage||Average Yearly Wage|
|Bartender Helper (Barback)||$10.66||$22,170|
The top 90th percentile of bartenders in West Virginia make $13.27 an hour.
Where can I get more information about alcohol training in West Virginia?
You can find more about responsible alcohol sales in West Virginia on the WVABCA’s website, including:
- Myers Manual for alcohol poisoning prevention
- How to card in West Virginia, including vertical red or blue cards
- Responsibilities of private clubs to notify emergency services
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our West Virginia alcohol server training.